How many times does a turbo 350 shift? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:03 PM
batman09's Avatar
CLICK ON MY AVATAR
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alameda ca... NorCal
Age: 44
Posts: 321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How many times does a turbo 350 shift?

How many times does a turbo 350 shift?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Indiana
Age: 29
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, its a 3 speed, so if it starts in first, it goes first, (shift) second, (shift) third, so 2 if its in drive
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:47 PM
batman09's Avatar
CLICK ON MY AVATAR
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alameda ca... NorCal
Age: 44
Posts: 321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just needed to make sure I wasn't crazy!!!For some reason my turbo 350 is not shifting into 3rd..it winding out about 60mph.Any ideas anyone??its got a 3.31 rearend.thanks bm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 10:01 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,891
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 257 Times in 210 Posts
Is your shifter set up properly?

Modulator valve getting vacuum?
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 10:20 PM
batman09's Avatar
CLICK ON MY AVATAR
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alameda ca... NorCal
Age: 44
Posts: 321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pretty sure my shifter is setup properly.Do not know what a modulator valve is?Please explain...I don't know alot about transmissions.thanks bm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2004, 10:43 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,891
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 257 Times in 210 Posts
There is a little valve at the back of tranny, beside tailshaft that has a vacuum line to it from the engine. It controls the shifts.

Also, is youre Kickdown cable connected to the carburator linkage?
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2004, 06:08 AM
Restore60s's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kentucky
Age: 55
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Shifts

Poncho's right. You need to check and make sure you have vacuum to the transmission modulator valve. You should have shift points first to second around 14 to 18 mph, second to third about 26 to 32 mph.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2004, 12:21 AM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mAYBE its your tranny filter, my th350 would down shift on its own into 2ed and stay there, i had to drop it in to L2 than back in to D "drive" so it would shift, sometimes it wouldnt shift out of 2nd eather. try a new filter and see if it works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2004, 06:44 PM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unless someone has had the filter off and got the gasket on wrong, where it is restricting the flow, or the trans is toast, thus plugging the filter, changing it will probably do no good.

As I have posted here numerous times in the past, changing the fluid and filter is "preventive maintenance", not repair. Very seldom will changing the fluid and filter correct a problem with an improperly operating transmission, as long as the fluid level is right.

I would be looking at vacuum lines to see if one has been knocked off at the engine or at the trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.