Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Hotrodding Basics (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/hotrodding-basics/)
-   -   How much for a beat up little ratrod like this? (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/how-much-beat-up-little-ratrod-like-105535.html)

Gabriel 12-29-2006 08:35 PM

How much for a beat up little ratrod like this?

Hey,

I'm a real newbie and I want to get in to hot-rodding to have a little
hobby on the side, and I was wondering how much I should expect to
shell out for a beat up old hot rod like the one of these:

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/5...ndup031rl4.jpg
http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/9...rat4jpgyl2.jpg

It doesn't have to have a really great engine or be in good shape or
fast as long as it runs and drives under its own power.

Centerline 12-29-2006 09:01 PM

People are spending 10's of thousands for piles of crap like that. The best and least expensive way to have a rat rod is build one yourself. If you want to buy one you'll pay 10 or 20 times what it cost to owner to build.

1ownerT 12-29-2006 09:44 PM

IMO, they are only good for salvaging the few good parts on them.

Good Frosty 12-30-2006 01:17 AM

Hey...it looks like the one on top might have front brakes.

And yeah, the "Rat-Market" is somehow over priced...even though most of them are built out of scrap/unused parts that are not really worth anything anyway, and the work that goes into building most of these "Rats" that sell on ebay isn't really decent.

poncho62 12-30-2006 06:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gabriel

as long as it runs and drives under its own power.

I think this is the operative word here.........I have my doubts about the one in the 1st picture. I wouldn't give squat for it.........#2 is a little better. I figure that neither is roadworthy.

steve t 12-30-2006 06:49 AM

i think rat rods are owners to lazy to finish the project, :evil:

cboy 12-30-2006 08:01 AM