how much paint for a pickup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2010, 08:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

how much paint for a pickup

im a first time painter and i getting close to ready to paint my 77 f150 pickup long box regular cab. im not painting inside the box and the inside of the cab, doors and hood are painted already. i want to use omni epoxy as a sealer i already have half a gallon of it. and the color is a bright pearl blue im using omni base i already have a half gallon of it. and ppg clear i have ahalf gallon of that too. can anybody give me an estimate on how much more supplies ill need i plan to buy extra but i dont want to buy alot extra that i probably wont use. my local paint supplier isnt very helpful and i will rather use a different supplier for my next project. and wont be using the omni or ppg paint anymore. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2010, 03:23 PM
'23 T-Bucket Pickup

Last wiki edit: Troubleshooting ignition Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3

How much paint needed .

I had a body shop from '82 thru '85 and used catalyzed acrylic enamel back in the old days . It would take 1 gallon of paint plus reducer and catalyst to paint any full size car or pickup with three coats of paint. Be SURE to follow the manufacturers mixing recommendations on the paint can for best results . Do Not let the paint dry completely between coats for best flow and gloss . Use a good gun . Good luck.
Also , you may want to know that Speedway Motors has excellent acrylic urethane which I recently (Jan of 2010) used on my T-bucket .
Old 08-17-2010, 11:27 AM

Last photo: