how to straighten this mess? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2008, 12:37 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

how to straighten this mess?

Let me start by saying this is my first try at outside bodywork.I did some straightening work on the firewall and it turned out OK.

For now lets just start with the lower half of the door,I'll get to the top half later.

These doors were striped and DA sanded with 80 grit.Then sanded with SPI epoxy primer.Before I but on any filler I took a 16" sanding board with 180 grit and scuffed the surface using the diagonal sanding strokes that I read about here.There were any dings and afew low spots that showed up because they didn't get scuffed. I decided to just put the filler were the low spots and dings are.As I was sanding it out ,in the diagonal pattern with 36 grit this is what I got.( Hope the pictures load)

I should say that the door metal is flexible and probably was moving as I was sanding. I was trying to not push down and let the paper do the work.I used a straight edge on the door and I looks like the sand through are high bit that didn't show up when I was scuffing it.

Do I sand it all off and start over? Do I skin coat the whole thing and re sand?Do I have to reprime before refilling?My biggest worry was that I will somehow change the shape of the door if I skim coat the whole door before sanding. I have no clue what to do at this point and to think I still have the rest of the car to do
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	door1 (2).JPG
Views:	174
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	30210   Click image for larger version

Name:	door2 (2).JPG
Views:	129
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	30211   Click image for larger version

Name:	door3 (2).JPG
Views:	134