how to talk down prices - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2006, 07:21 AM
Don't worry I'm a Professional

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

how to talk down prices

I was just wondering if anybody had tips on talking someone down from a price on their car?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-07-2006, 08:08 AM
RatRod B4 RatRods were Cool

Last photo:

Study the car A LOT and find a dent, rust spot, pealing trim, dirty oil, oil leaks, or anything you can pick at, but don't complain, just be quiet, take your time and study the problem closely, by then the owner should know you are sharp and will not be fooled. Tell him you wanted something a little nicer to start out with....but you would be able to pay xxxx for it.
Having the cash in hand helps a lot.

Most people set their prices higher than what they want, so they can be flexible.
Don't be afraid to offend the other person with a low bid, after all, you might just get it for that!

Last edited by FASTCHEVY; 04-07-2006 at 08:22 AM.
Old 04-07-2006, 08:16 AM

Last journal entry: Free tires
Last photo:

The biggest asset in your favor to negeotiating price is if you really want the car. Don't dicker for something you don't want and back out.
Try and be honest, if you want the car and they are asking to much tell them that you like the car but the price is to high and make a fair offer giving yourself a little room to go up. I rarely try and low ball someone. If they know anything about what they are selling they have an idea what it's worth. Most think it's worth more than it really is and pad their price about 5-10% but each sell is different.