How to tell if stall converter is seated - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 05:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: summerville sc
Age: 23
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How to tell if stall converter is seated

This is my first time doing a transmission swap by myself. i removed my 700r4transmission with a breeze. Then i put my rebuilt th400 up bolted it to the block. A friend of mines ask me if i seated the converter correctly now he has me freaked out. I remeber hearing a click but i dont remeber how many i heard. so now im not sure if its seated all the way. The converter turns freely.

I know this is hard to tell if it is accurate from a picture. but before i unbolt the transmission. this is how it looks under there. Also i measured and the converter is half a inch from the flex plate. what do you guys think should i be on the safe side and unbolt the transmission or leave it how it is.
THanks for reading
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	converter.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	437.6 KB
ID:	66778  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:23 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,136
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 371
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
If the converter spins freely as the trans is bolted up , you are OK.

Your photo does not look like a 1/2 clearance. Looks like less.

1/2 inch is too much pull out from the trans to the flywheel. Should be around 1/8 inch
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 09:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: summerville sc
Age: 23
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah your right i couldent read the measurements on the tape measure because of the metal tap so i rounded up to the closet number i coulde read which was a 1/2 inch. what has me worried is when i turn the converter the splines on the back on the transmission dosent turn. every time i ever delt with a transmission when i turn the converter the splines on the back turn with it. but also this is a 10in tci street converter and my first time experienceing with a stall converter, i dont know if that has something to do with it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 11:12 PM
Greg T's Avatar
www.krusinklassics.net
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Escanaba, MI.
Age: 60
Posts: 1,150
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
What is a "stall" converter? They all stall at some point.







.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 11:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: summerville sc
Age: 23
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what i meant by that is this is my first time experencing with a after market converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2012, 11:42 PM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,911
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 58 Posts
If the transmission bolts up to the engine and you still have clearance between the flexplate and the converter, you are good, don't worry about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2012, 02:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: summerville sc
Age: 23
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by S10 Racer View Post
If the transmission bolts up to the engine and you still have clearance between the flexplate and the converter, you are good, don't worry about it.
thanks thats all i wanted to hear. my friend keeps telling me im going to break the front pump. but i think it is right. i have a peace of mind about it now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2012, 02:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: summerville sc
Age: 23
Posts: 69
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have another question guys do i use a spacer between the converter and flexplate. or do i pull the conventer to the flexplate and bolt the bolts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2012, 01:16 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,303
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 132 Times in 116 Posts
generally it is just bolted in. The clearance is usually no more than 1/4" from what I have seen. More than that and I think spacers are in order as the converter lugs may get pulled out of the transmission to far.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2012, 05:44 AM
TexasT's Avatar
Did you ever wonder?
 

Last journal entry: Got it moving under its own power
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg T View Post
What is a "stall" converter? They all stall at some point.
.
Maybe he ment "stahl" converter. haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck whitaker View Post
my friend keeps telling me im going to break the front pump. but i think it is right.
This "friend" probably wrecked one or more with his wrench twisting prowess. As others have stated, you sound like you are doing fine. I would have dumped a quart or two of fluid in the converter before I slipped it on the input shaft. Also rubbed some fluid on the converter hub to get it passed the input seal. You probably didn't do that either but don't worry about it. If he really is your friend he would be over with you at least handing you tools.

Keep us posted on your progress!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2012, 08:03 AM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasT View Post
...
Also rubbed some fluid on the converter hub to get it passed the input seal. You probably didn't do that either but don't worry about it.
...
IMO, Lubricating the convertor hub/seal is vital!
If you start that engine up on a dry rubber seal ... it's going to burn up.

Just a little vaseline or assembly lube is all you need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&M Torkmaster 2400 rpm stall converter vs. stock torque converter??? zbhover Transmission - Rearend 2 11-02-2008 07:52 PM
stall converter 84gmc Transmission - Rearend 1 08-26-2007 03:23 PM
stall converter BadS10 Transmission - Rearend 4 02-07-2006 04:20 PM
need help with what stall converter bb1 Transmission - Rearend 3 08-24-2005 07:10 PM
Getting The Right Stall Converter Novastroker Transmission - Rearend 1 04-28-2003 02:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.