How to test sensor? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-12-2003, 08:28 PM
CET's Avatar
CET CET is offline
il enforcer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alberta
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post How to test sensor?

Does anyone know how to test the hall effect sensor on a 318 Chrysler engine?

I have replaced the vacuum lines ( cracked ) new plugs, cap, rotor, wires, checked all wiring connections. Cleaned the TB, timing is dead on, fuel pressure is good. The engine tends to miss upon acceleration. It will also idle great and then die. Restart it and it runs fine.

From what I have been reading it very likely could be the sensor but at almost $100 I don't want to buy it if the old one still good.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2003, 02:54 AM
woodz428's Avatar
Troll Hunter
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Philo,Il
Posts: 2,702
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow

It just generates a small electrical signal when the inducter passes it. Unfortunately from what you're describing it may test o.k. until it fails completely. If it quits and then will restart it's sometimes difficult to pin point a problem until the part fails.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2003, 03:32 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Post

Check for for a worn distributor shaft that lets the shutter wheel move around enough to touch the sensor. (look for signs of the "teeth" contacting the sensor) Up and down play in the distributor shaft should be from .015 to .030. You can do a better check of the set up with the distributor out of the motor by hooking to meter, applying power and spinning the shaft by hand.) you can also see the teeth in the gap better and align each tooth to the center of the gap. Also make sure gou have a gap at the bottom of the tooth as well.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2003, 12:39 PM
CET's Avatar
CET CET is offline
il enforcer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alberta
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Thanks to you and woodz428 for the info.

I checked the shaft, the play is within specs and the "teeth" are lined up. After I reaasembled it it ran great for about 5 minutes and then it acted up again. I let it cool down ( it is -17C here ) and it worked again for a few minutes and then acted up again.

It would appear that the heat is causing it to go flaky, so replacing the sensor would seem to be in order.

[ February 13, 2003: Message edited by: CET ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2003, 04:04 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Post

Stude, how about leting us know what you final fix is. My knowledge base needs improvment.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2003, 09:10 PM
CET's Avatar
CET CET is offline
il enforcer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alberta
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

[quote]Originally posted by trees:
<strong>Stude, how about leting us know what you final fix is. My knowledge base needs improvment.

Trees</strong><hr></blockquote>

No problem. I looked at it again today and pulled the distributor. I used a crude home made dial gauge and it appears that the shaft is bent however slightly. Also, now the plate inside is chewed up from the sensor plate.

I am off to find another distributor tomorrow. I will let you know how it turns out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2003, 09:29 PM
CET's Avatar
CET CET is offline
il enforcer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Alberta
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I picked up a distributor today. Tried it with the old sensor plate. It ran better but still missed. Installed a new sensor and bam, its runs great. It will idle without stalling and started at -22C with no problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.