How to wire a 2 stage air compressor ? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2007, 11:42 PM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How to wire a 2 stage air compressor ?

Hi Guys

Need your help BIG TIME.

Just bought a Craftsman 2 Stage Air Compressor. (60 gal.)

I have to connect the extension cord to the on/off switch and there's NO
WIRING DIAGRAM for me to do that

I looked in the manual that came with the compressor ~ NO LUCK

Got (4) leads coming off the extension cord; 1 red; 1 white; 1 black 1 green

If any you guys can help me out I would appreciate it so much.

Here's the model no. 919.165612
Voltage-Single Phase 240/60/1
Min. Branch Circuit Requirement 15amps

If there's any other info you might need to help me out on this puzzler for me just ask.

Thank you
GOD BLESS

Schooner

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 12:14 AM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,384
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Home electrical panels are wired w/ two phases. To get 110V you run a black to one phase, white to neutral ground and green to safety ground. To get 240V you need to run black to one phase and red to the second phase. White goes to neutral ground and green to safety ground. Difficulty is knowing which terminals to connect these wires to. Most motors also need a couple jumper wires changed for voltage changes in addition. Is there a wiring diagram on the side of the motor or inside the motor wiring enclosure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:05 AM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You know I didn't even loooook ?

Hi Guy

You know I didn't even looook on the side of the compressor or into the cover for a wiring diagram. Dumby that I am

Did I memtion that its a 2 stage with (4) leads coming off the extension cord?

1. White
1. Black
1. Green
1. Red

Can you tell me (this newbie) which (2) leads go together ?

Example: Green goes with Red or Black goes with White lead.
At least I'll know which (2) two leads go together.

Where they go on the on/off switch will be another story.

Thank guy
GOD BLESS

Schooner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:06 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,088
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 101 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCHOONER
Hi Guy

You know I didn't even looook on the side of the compressor or into the cover for a wiring diagram. Dumby that I am

Did I memtion that its a 2 stage with (4) leads coming off the extension cord?

1. White
1. Black
1. Green
1. Red

Can you tell me (this newbie) which (2) leads go together ?

Example: Green goes with Red or Black goes with White lead.
At least I'll know which (2) two leads go together.

Where they go on the on/off switch will be another story.

Thank guy
GOD BLESS

Schooner
Black and red are both hot
White is Neutral/ground
Green Safty ground
This is something not to play with if you are not sure. You can get hurt from 220. You may need an electrician
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:31 AM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi Guy

Thank you. I'll be looking-up an electrican.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 06:37 AM
jcclark's Avatar
The Penny Pincher
 

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisville, Ky. U.S.A.
Age: 61
Posts: 1,869
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
2 stage or single stage has nothing to do with it.
That's the pump type, not the motor.
A 220 v motor is the same for either one.

As stated above the red and black are hot
but you have to make sure they're connected to different phases,
that's the two hot wires coming into your breaker box from the
electric company. You can't connect both your hot wires to
only one of those incoming lines, Make sure the two breakers you
connect to are on those two seperate feed wires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,909
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCHOONER
Hi Guy

Thank you. I'll be looking-up an electrican.

Good idea I have said it before and I say it again, wiring a 220 volt motor is no place to learn electrical wiring. It is simple after you know how but then so is playing a guitar, the difference is you can get hurt or damage your equipment if you make a mistake wiring. What everyone has told you is right however no one mentioned wire size, wire length, breaker rating, total circuit load or motor AMP rating, all VERY important. If you change your mind and decide to do this yourself then at least get someone with experience to check it out before turning it on, you might be glad you did. I have seen some scary wiring on compressors and the owners thought nothing was wrong until it was pointed out to them but sometimes it gets pointed out by the compressor in a very rude way!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Suspension: designs, shapes, sizes Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Yorkton
Posts: 154
Wiki Edits: 51

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When I did mine I looked at a buddies who was the same compressor except with a smaller tank that came with a cord attached.

Mine only had three wires though and it was the black, red and white

Scary thing is the white is the also the safety ground that attaches to the tank and everything. I was scared to touch the tank the first time I fired it up but it was right and nothing was wrong. Then agian it was easy because I had an example to go off of.
__________________
BiG WHiskey
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 10:52 AM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcclark
2 stage or single stage has nothing to do with it.
That's the pump type, not the motor.
A 220 v motor is the same for either one.

As stated above the red and black are hot
but you have to make sure they're connected to different phases,
that's the two hot wires coming into your breaker box from the
electric company. You can't connect both your hot wires to
only one of those incoming lines, Make sure the two breakers you
connect to are on those two seperate feed wires.
Hi jcclark

Let me give you more info so that you my be willing to help this retard

My compress will be pluged into an outlet that's already used for our dryer.
If that helps.

The connects on my a/compressor are: L1 & L2
I was told by a friend of mine that:

The red lead and black leads off you extension cord go on L1 and L2. It does make a difference he says due to the fact that L1 & L2 are both power contacts.
The green lead off the extension cord will connect to ground.
The white lead will not be used ~ wire screw it/or tape it off.

My good man, is my friend correct

Thanks for trying to help this ol' man start his new air compressor
GOD BLESS

Schooner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 12:25 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,088
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 101 Times in 87 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SCHOONER
Hi jcclark

Let me give you more info so that you my be willing to help this retard

My compress will be pluged into an outlet that's already used for our dryer.
If that helps.

The connects on my a/compressor are: L1 & L2
I was told by a friend of mine that:

The red lead and black leads off you extension cord go on L1 and L2. It does make a difference he says due to the fact that L1 & L2 are both power contacts.
The green lead off the extension cord will connect to ground.
The white lead will not be used ~ wire screw it/or tape it off.

My good man, is my friend correct

Thanks for trying to help this ol' man start his new air compressor
GOD BLESS

Schooner
This will work, I would still like to see the white/neutral connected. It is not required for 220 to work but it is nice to have a second safety ground. You could bond it to the box with the green if there is no white connection point on the compressor as they are both bonded at the panel assuming this is not on a sub panel. The compressor will actually run with just the red and black but a ground is needed for safety.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:10 PM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
This will work, I would still like to see the white/neutral connected. It is not required for 220 to work but it is nice to have a second safety ground. You could bond it to the box with the green if there is no white connection point on the compressor as they are both bonded at the panel assuming this is not on a sub panel. The compressor will actually run with just the red and black but a ground is needed for safety.
Hi T-bucket23

I just notice looking at the top of the on/off switch on my a/compressor.
There's only (3) three leads coming from the motor to the terminals on the a/c
1. Black
1. White
1. Green

And I got (4) leads coming out of the heavy duty plug.
This a/compressor will be running out of the 220 dryer. Of course I won't be running the dryer at the same time.

Looking again into the on/off switch on my a/c I see this:

(4) terminals. one has the Black lead on it.
one has the White lead on it.
one has the Green lead on it.
The other is EMPTY.

So in closing this novel (sorry you have to put-up with this newbie) but that's what makes this site great, 'cause guys like you. And I'm not blowing smoke if you what I mean. If this comes off you'll and the other great guys will be saving me $ $ $ from calling an electrican.

P.S. I'm figuring to copy the cord leads to the leads that are already on the terminal coming from the motor. And the empty terminal I'll put the neutral ground lead.

O.K. my man what's it FINALLY
I don't make a move till I hear from you and any others.

GOD BLESS ALL YOU GUYS

Schooner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:18 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,088
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 101 Times in 87 Posts
Sound like a 110 setup not 220. Are you sure it is 220. It has to be labeled somewhere. Please besure befroe doing anything else. Do you have the actual model # for the compressor.
Where are the L1 and L2 markings

Would it be possible to post a digital pic of all the electrical connection points on the compressor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:43 PM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
Sound like a 110 setup not 220. Are you sure it is 220. It has to be labeled somewhere. Please besure befroe doing anything else. Do you have the actual model # for the compressor.
Where are the L1 and L2 markings

Would it be possible to post a digital pic of all the electrical connection points on the compressor
Hey T-bucket23

Excuse me for not giving you the right info: Its a 240volt. Sears Air Compressor. Model # 919.165612

(4) terminals on the on/off switch and (3) leads coming from the moter which colors are: Black, White & Green. The other terminal is EMPTY.

My heavy duty dryer cord has (4) leads coming out of it, which colors are:
Black, White, Green & Red.

I do hope that helps you to help this crazy ol' man . . . lol

Thank you so much for trying to straighten this puzzle out 4 me.
GOD BLESS

Schooner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 04:09 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,088
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 101 Times in 87 Posts
Is this new or something you picked up used. Check the motor for a spec plate. It sure sounds like 110, perhaps smeone converted it if it is used. Again pics of it may help



Quote:
Originally Posted by SCHOONER
Hey T-bucket23

Excuse me for not giving you the right info: Its a 240volt. Sears Air Compressor. Model # 919.165612

(4) terminals on the on/off switch and (3) leads coming from the moter which colors are: Black, White & Green. The other terminal is EMPTY.

My heavy duty dryer cord has (4) leads coming out of it, which colors are:
Black, White, Green & Red.

I do hope that helps you to help this crazy ol' man . . . lol

Thank you so much for trying to straighten this puzzle out 4 me.
GOD BLESS

Schooner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2007, 05:06 PM
SCHOONER's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: LAS VEGAS
Posts: 68
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
Is this new or something you picked up used. Check the motor for a spec plate. It sure sounds like 110, perhaps smeone converted it if it is used. Again pics of it may help
Hey Guy

This comes right out to the manual. Its a new air compressor. 240volts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air compressor unloader plumbing Dynomatt Garage - Tools 9 02-27-2011 04:45 PM
Compressor - Single vs. Dual Stage cab Garage - Tools 28 09-06-2010 04:48 PM
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
shooting clear vinvango73 Body - Exterior 3 10-28-2005 11:24 PM
FRAM air breathers!!!! Robbie Engine 70 09-22-2005 05:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.