how to wire voltage gauge? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2007, 12:42 PM
Brian_B's Avatar
Lost in the 50s!
 

Last journal entry: time to start body work
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Age: 47
Posts: 759
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how to wire voltage gauge?

Hello,

I ran a few searches in here and on the net and gave up.


I have a set of 3 autometer gauges in pods I will be installing in my 56 tonight. No...I am not hacking up the dash.

I got these from a guy I knew a long time ago. They worked fine in his ranger. I was going to put them in mine. That didn't happen.

Anyway......He wrote down the installation instructions, but....

The oil pressure gauges is easy. Just hook the capillary tube to where the current oil pressure gauge is (cheap aftermarket one).

The water temp gauge just screws into the intake where the current factory electric gauge is.

Now comes the volt meter. It has the normal wires for the dash lights. Easy enough. I just wire them into the same wires for the other two gauges.

(They already are in place from the cheap oil gauge that is in there now.)

It has 2 heavier wires and I want to confirm where they go before I hook them up.

The written instructions say the hot wire goes to the battery and the other one just goes to ground. Is that correct? It seems like it would be on 24/7 that way. Shouldn't it be on a switched 12V sourch?

I assume I need a fuse in the battery side. If so, what size fuse should I use?

Thanks in advance for the advice,

Brian
__________________

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:13 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
If it is indeed a voltmeter and NOT an ampmeter, you need to wire it into a keyed/fused source (usually the instrument power) that is hot when the key is on or the accessory position. The other lead goes to a good ground.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:22 PM
F&J F&J is offline
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 32 Ford cabriolet conversion/windshield
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Age: 62
Posts: 1,571
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yes, it needs to be switched not constant. (if it's a voltmeter!)

It would be nice to have it work when it is being cranked, so then it would show how many volts the batt has during cranking....just like a battery load tester.

If you hook it to IGN it would read a little lower due to coil draw while cranking too, but it's better that not knowing anything.

If you put it on ACC, it would kick out during cranking, but will show charging.

Fuses; if you are trying to protect the gauge, it won't. The fuse would protect the feedwire if it got shorted out near the gauge. They don't need much of a amp rating on that gauge. You could test it with an ohmmeter and then use a ohms law calculator webchart to know how much is needed....3a should work fine but at the beginning of the feedwire not by the gauge, in case the wire got shorted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:32 PM
Brian_B's Avatar
Lost in the 50s!
 

Last journal entry: time to start body work
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Age: 47
Posts: 759
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys,

It is indeed a volt meter. I will post a pic of it:



I have a set of the three gauges to try install tonight.

[IMG][/IMG]

I am going to the ozarks run in Branson, MO Saturday and this is one of the last minute things to get done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2007, 01:39 PM
F&J F&J is offline
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 32 Ford cabriolet conversion/windshield
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Connecticut
Age: 62
Posts: 1,571
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I like the big degree sweep on the temp gauge. Those old SW's with the short sweep was like having no gauge at all

Nice
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2007, 01:10 AM
Brian_B's Avatar
Lost in the 50s!
 

Last journal entry: time to start body work
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Age: 47
Posts: 759
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did not manage to get them wired tonight. I have so much else to get done.

I did, however, manage to get them mounted. It should not take long to wire them.




My steering wheels is crooked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:44 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

Wire the power from the INSTR fuse from your panel..IF you are stock , you probably don't have one..put a 1 amp on each gauge.

The other (black wires) go to a properly bonded ground , use star and lock washers and burnish off all paint.

IF you want to see voltage at start up..(not really needed) you may, since it is a Ford, get a 1N4001 Diode, and install it between the "I" wire, and the power wire on the gauge.The Diode will provide isolation from the I and S terminals and power so the solenoid isn't engaged or it's branch circuits...But in most cases, the reading will be the same..(It's all the B+ buss..)

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Points to HEI conversion; wiring issue?? VI009DZ Electrical 11 06-11-2007 06:56 PM
HELP , My Firebird is dead IGENFIREBIRD Electrical 29 04-23-2007 03:24 PM
Electric choke voltage Mertz Engine 36 04-22-2007 11:28 AM
Fuel gauge help dpjim2 Electrical 7 05-27-2006 03:16 PM
Need help with fuel gauge Crazy-J Electrical 3 03-01-2005 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.