How Would You Attach (mig Weld) A Patch Panel - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2006, 10:49 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

How Would You Attach (mig Weld) A Patch Panel

Hi Guys

This questions comes under the heading " I never did this before, so HELP ME PLEASE

How would you attach (Mig Weld) a lower left side patch panel

Mustang Unlimited sold me a sheet metal patch panel the fits the rust I'm going to cut-out on the lower left side on my fender. Its a '66 'stang.

So guys I'm new at this and need your help. I got a Millermatic 135 Mig welder on order and I'm ready as soon as you guys kindly give me your experiences with replacing and patching a fender panel.

What I want to know is this:

Do I tack (mig) weld at certain spot in order not to warp the metal?
Do spot weld both inside and outside of the new patch panel to the fender and then run a straight bead across the entire patch panel?
What do I do for the inside of the patch panel (at the wheel well side)

What about finishing the application on the outside
Lets say you guys tell how to attach the new panel, now what about using Bondo or Leading in the seam area

My aim is to have this fender finished for painting. Only with your help

That's it guys. I do hope I got me message across. Please bear with me ~ I'm trying this for the first. However, I'm dam good at followiing instructions.

SO I'M IN YOUR EXPERT HANDS GUYS ~ FIRE AWAY.

THANK YOU ALL WHO ANS. THIS POSTING.

GOD BLESS

Schooner

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2006, 12:59 AM

Last photo: