hydraulic clutch problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2011, 10:58 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

hydraulic clutch problems

ok I'm still having trouble bleeding my hydraulic ctutch. I have a master cylinder 7/8 bore under floor mounted with a resivoir on the firewall. I have a slave cylinder 13/16 bore. I bought a pressuer bleeder and let it push fluid thru for 5 to 10 minutes. Usually pushes a pint or so. Then it seems like the pedal is fairly firm. But after stepping on it a few times, I loose pedal and the pedal. Noit as firm. If I then try ot manual bleed by holding the pedal part way down and opening the bleeder, then closing, the pedal won't come all the way back up. The master and Slave are brand new. This is actaully the second replacement for both. Wanted to make sure I didn't get defective ones.
Suggestions

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-23-2011, 07:52 AM

Last photo:

hydraulic clutch problems

I'm not certain if it would apply to a hydraulic clutch system, but I wonder if it would help to have a residual valve in the lines as used in brake systems.
Old 10-23-2011, 11:15 AM

you should have a small bib on the slave cylinder (not sure the ride you have ) that you can attach a small hose or vacuum line to fill a bottle have w/ brake fluid and insert this hose in the bottle (be sure bottle is clear to see through) and be sure it doesnt come out of the fluid . pump clutch pedal and hold it ALL THE WAY DOWN. crack bleeder valve and u will see air coming out , repeat until no bubbles are visible in the bottle. hope this helps
Old 10-23-2011, 11:22 AM