I mated to the 40 to EZ wiring! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 02:18 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I mated to the 40 to EZ wiring!

I need to look of the back of the gauges, I have detail with Illustrator. It is hard to where the right wires and I am in the coupe. My wife took of with the camera. Just having to click, not today. So, I just drew the cluster. I had getting rusty.
The battery gauge is the problem via relay and block and out to attach to the right wires.

HELP/911
Footstomper.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Untitled art 4.pdf (21.9 KB, 86 views)

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:12 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am rusty on Illustrator, but, it is missing the relay!

I like that guy with house wiring, I did it with a boat. you just plug to the lights. That's funny.

O.K., you guys that have experience of install of the cluster gauges. I was mad, after working on that panel. I know the red wire to all the gauges, the relay has two or three to the white block with a wire to the battery gauge.

I want to get my 40 to cruise.
Here it is,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1940ford lft rear.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	196.8 KB
ID:	56450  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:19 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh, this is the 40 in 1982

Black, rust, 283 with munice 3 speed mated to the torque tube to the 40. I still have that transmission with a fox shifter.
Now it has a Cadillac 8.2 liter with a TH 400 and 2:73 9", barks in all speeds at 85. Runs like a rabbit and jump.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	40 Ford.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	252.2 KB
ID:	56451  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2011, 08:09 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 14 Times in 12 Posts
Do you have a voltmeter or ammeter???

If a voltmeter-----all you have to do is connect the lead to an ignition source.

Ammeter is wired differently as it monitors amperage and not volts.
Ammeter is really not advisable as they can be fire starters because most all of the current the car produces goes thru the gage before going anywhere else.

(Chrysler products are notorious for ammeter fires and failures that completely disable the car)

A volt meter-----monitors voltage and is handy 2 different ways.
with the engine off----you can check battery voltage
with the engine on----you can keep an eye on the charging system.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 07:40 AM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bryan59EC nice el camino

I like those El Caminos', the 59 was the best of them.

Did you look at my drawing? I messed on the Illustrator, I am training to my skills. I am glad that you know more to learn. I am shade mechanic. It was the first harness and used it for 8 years of the green 40. The area with what relay to white block with a one wire to the battery gauge. I tried which wires, when I put to the gauge and it goes all the way and I took it off, I know that is wrong. The White block must lower the amp. This is when I need the meter. What does the (white block Ceramic to heat) to set down.
I really need to where wires to the relay with 2 spades, and the block to gauge. Some wires have disolved the labels.

Footstomper
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2011, 08:52 PM
Footstomper
 

Last journal entry: 40 ford/cadillac coupe
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 271
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I got a meter, but never use it.

I reverse engineering of my fault, then forward engineering by remember, once the two did not works. I took the two nether for that terminal to the relay had the spades. So, the block with terminal was soldered. I cranked it and the battery moved slower. The other wires would just go fast to when I knew it was wrong.
Next tomorrow to get a relay horn switch for the 40 button to the starter, I hope.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
alfa v6 mated to manual rear drive ebbrell Transmission - Rearend 9 04-20-2011 02:37 PM
700R4 mated to '93 4.3L Vortec TV Cable question 87GMCS15 Transmission - Rearend 4 03-22-2011 08:53 PM
EZ wiring - back up light wiring copdwg Electrical 3 06-07-2008 06:42 PM
has anyone actually mated up a T56 w/ their pontiac engine? Chirodan Transmission - Rearend 0 04-24-2006 10:49 AM
wiring MosDeF289 Engine 2 11-15-2003 09:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.