I need advice on bodywork schedule - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2004, 09:38 PM
34 Plymouth Street Rod

Wiki Edits: 0

Question I need advice on bodywork schedule

I'm working on a 1934 Plymouth 4 door sedan street rod. www.RustToRod.com This is my first project, and I'm having trouble figuring out the correct sequence of doing things. I have a pretty long list of body modifications I want to do, but I need help to make sure I do everything in the correct order.

The biggest problem I have is with rust removal and prevention. I know there are a lot of other articles on this site that deal with rust, because I've read them all. None of them address my problem though. I'm working with a limited budget, so I want to do most of the labor myself, like the top chop, shaved handles, smoothed hood, and dent removal. Right now the car has 25 year old primer, with a lot of surface rust, with some pitting. The surface rust doesn't look bad from 5 feet away, but it's very rough to the touch. There's a lot of shallow wavy spots in the sheet metal that need to be smoothed out.

Here's the questions:
1. Should I sand the body down to the bare metal to do the body repairs and modifications?
2. It will probably take me many months, possibly years, to get this car ready for paint. Is the car going to rust again if it's sanded down?
3. I thought maybe I should just do one section at a time, like working some wrinkles out of the doors. How soon should I get the bare metal protected?