I need help with my fuel cell cap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2008, 05:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I need help with my fuel cell cap

My gas tank was pretty bad when I dropped it, so I decided to go with a fuel cell in the trunk. Everything is connected and I added fuel with a couple of 5 gallon jugs, but I am having an issue sealing the cap of the cell. Any tips? It seems the rubber gasket around the cap is a tad loose, and when I have it in the open position so the tabs align, I put it in the cell so the tabs align, but then cannot push it down to allow me to turn it because the gasket stops it from going any lower. If I remove the gasket, it goes in fine, so I know it is an issue with the gasket.

I was hoping maybe someone had a tip or two in closing these damn things. It is an aluminum cell, with a plastic cap (Jegs fuel cell).

Thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2008, 07:14 PM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i was having a BAD problem get my cell cap off. i ended up having to trim the tabs to make it fit better. maybe you are having the same problem, but in reverce ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-11-2008, 07:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hmm, good point. What is weird is if I take the gasket off it spins fine when I go to lock it. The gasket itself is almost so tight that it is stopping me from pushing the cap down and spinning it. I have to see, maybe the gasket shifted and is not seated correctly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-12-2008, 07:54 PM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i took my gasket off, to diagnose my problem. and the cap worked perfectly. gasket back on, and i nearly couldn't get the cap off. what i did, was to clearfully, with a dremel, take a few to several .001's off parameter of the tabs on the cap.

take the ring off the cell. now test fit the cap in it. you should be able to see what the hang up is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-12-2008, 08:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good idea about taking the ring off, much easier to really get a good view of the the hang up is.

I see that Jaz and others sell filler attachments that have a basic screw on cap which would be much easier, just not sure if it is NHRA legal or not. Plus I have a Jegs cell, so not sure if all 12 bolt cells have the same bolt spacing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 06:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Would it be an issue if I took the gasket off and close the cap just to fire the motor? I wanted to move the car out of the garage and won't be able to mess with the gasket issue until next weekend.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 08:13 PM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i highly doubt that would cause a problem. unless your idle is so loppy that the car shakes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2008, 04:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That won't be a problem, plus I only have 1/3-1/2 tank.

I just didn't know if the fuel system gets pressurized or not and if it would be an issue with a good seal by taking the gasket off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2008, 06:54 AM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the cap is vented. the only pressurized systems i know of, are the OBDII systems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2008, 07:24 AM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
did ya fix it ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2008, 07:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 19
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes. Thanks for all your help. I took the cap off and got a full understanding how it works. For some reason I thought the entire cap spun, not realizing it was just the 1/2 that spun to lock it. With a little pressure, I was able to spin it and lock it. I tried it a few more times and it seems easier. Either I just needed to understand how to do it or since it was brand new it just needed to loosen up a bit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2008, 08:06 AM
Vortech 4.3's Avatar
jack of all trades
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 780
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
. it will probably get easier as you use it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
carburetor leaking; fuel tank needs cleaning islandman General Rodding Tech 7 03-17-2007 06:03 PM
!!!!! HELP - CARBURETOR LEAKING & FUEL TANK NEEDS TO BE CLEANED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! islandman Engine 3 03-17-2007 03:36 PM
How Much Foam to put in a Fuel Cell??? texastomeh General Rodding Tech 1 11-28-2006 11:05 AM
Fuel Cell placement. rhodeislandvolvo General Rodding Tech 3 07-27-2006 08:53 PM
Plumbing for a fuel cell cboy General Rodding Tech 2 12-21-2004 03:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.