I think I dropped a 1/2" nut into my intake manifold - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2010, 03:06 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

I think I dropped a 1/2" nut into my intake manifold

I was swapping out a carburater on my 1979 Cadillac(425), I am pretty scatter brained so it did not surprise me when I could not find one of the carb nuts. I just popped another one on there. When I started the car and hit the gas, I heard the horrible sound of metal. It was loud and ugly. The car ran for about 10 seconds with that noise, before I turned it off.

I am a rookie here. I am going to pull the intake manifold. I dont know if that sound can be made if it got stuck in the valve, or does it sound like it definitely made it into the piston chamber?

If the nut made it into the chamber, does that mean the engine is toast?

Is there any way to pull the nut out without pulling off the heads?

thanks everyone!!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2010, 03:18 AM
Senior Curmudgeon

Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanked 1,149 Times in 948 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Pisonero
Is there any way to pull the nut out without pulling off the heads?