I want to use an american flag for my headliner, glue? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2004, 01:01 PM

Last wiki edit: Calculating tire size
Last journal entry: Changes...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 2

I want to use an american flag for my headliner, glue?

The headliner in my 1987 Thunderbird is starting to tear up, and I want to put in a big american flag in its place. The headliner seems to be a board with foam on it then a soft light material on top of that. I did a search and found out that 3M Super Trim Adhesive #08090 is good, but is stong enough to hold up a flag? I think the flag is heavier than regular headliner material, and made of different material. I've never done any work with headliners before, but I want to do this myself and I don't want to take it to a pro.

here are some pictures of my headliner as it is now:

Russel

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-08-2004, 01:09 PM
Chevy SS

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

i dunno... but i like that idea with the flag hope it works out
Old 08-08-2004, 01:23 PM

Last photo:

No! No! No! No! No! No!

Please, rethink this. I am all for patriotism, but that crosses the line. Go to Wal-Mart or some places that sells fabric and get something with a patriotic pattern. I actually have been thinking of doing it myself. "Flag-like" yes! A real flag

As far as glue, JC Whitney sells the best stuff that I have found, believe it or not. Just make sure is specifies "for use on headliners". Learned the hard way on that one.
Old 08-09-2004, 04:52 AM
Last photo:

You better think again, that is against the U.S. Flag code. Check it out for yourself.

http://www.usflag.org/us.code36.html

Vince