Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - Ideas?
Thread: Ideas?
View Single Post
Old 06-15-2005, 11:50 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Well yeah, I should have thrown in there that I know it's my car and I should pick but I like BOTH. I am stuck here basically haha.... in a HUGE mudhole. lol But yeah I was looking back in a recent Rod & Custom mag and they had this gold Mercury in there called Gold Rush. It had a traditional style to it mixed with modern. Now I was thinking about doing that but my other biggest problem is wheels, tires and motor. Now I have a 250 inline 6 here that would be sweet to fix up but all I have is the block and a friend has the head and never brought it back to me and now that I graduated from school I dont ever see him and he lives far away. So that thing would be expensive to fix up and get all the parts for. Then I was thinking.... go with a big block, 454. At very first I wanted to do the pro street look with this with a 496 because I never seen a 48 Chevy fixed up for pro street too much (about 5 of em and that's it) but then I got to pricing everything up and do put a new tubbed rear end in it, Currie rear end with the narrowed frame, all new floors, roll cage that would have to be custom made, etc etc and it came out to be over 20 grand just about. And I know when doing a project you should plan to see how much time you think it will be and how much you think it will cost and triple that....
So here is what I was thinking....
1.) First I have to find out if this 79 Z28 front end will work (so far half and half are telling me it will and the other half says it wont)
2.) If it works then I have to start on the front end because I have NOTHING to it. I have nothing to the entire car, I have a bare frame, a body, hood, doors, fenders and trunk lid and that is all.