Identifying "Dobie Gillis / Art & Lloyy Chrisman's bonneville car?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2004, 02:40 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Identifying "Dobie Gillis / Art & Lloyy Chrisman's bonneville car??

I'm new to the hot rod scene and am thinking of starting a new project.. I really like the car from " The many loves of Dobie Gillis" 60's tv show.. It seems that the car was originally a Bonneville salt flat car made by Art and Lloyd Chrisman in the 50's..... later to be bought/redone by famous George Barris for the Dobie Gillis show.... Its a rear engine setup ..AWESOME, but i've read conflicting things about it... anybody know what year the car is??? I've heard its a 29 then 30 then 32??? With a 40 roof on it.. also supossedly has a hood made from two 40's hoods ???? I'm not familiar with old fords.. anybody have any info??? is it steel or fiberglass??? is the body channelled?? what frame? Thanks in advance, Chris

Why was this post moved to the "non-automotive" lounge!!!!!!!

Last edited by torquenturbo; 02-08-2004 at 02:40 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-08-2004, 02:57 PM
Tazz

Last photo:

Impudent Newbie?

You Dare To Question The Powers That Be? How Dare YOU! LOL

Tazz

Rat Rods Rule!
Old 02-08-2004, 03:03 PM
v8s10.org

Last photo:

I have a couple of old Barris books from the early 60s that feature that car and tell every little detail about it. I just have to find the books.
Old 02-08-2004, 03:12 PM
Just one of the guys

Last journal entry: Garage Toys
Last photo: