Idles high - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2008, 04:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Idles high

i put a jegs "Max Box" upper sheet metal intake plenum, for shortys headers, BBK cold air induction system, and BBK high performance H-pipes with out converters, everything else is stock. The car idles high, even with the throttle screw screwed out all the way. What did i miss. How can i idle the car down? It idles at 1 1/2 thousand rpms, in park, and a little over 1 thousand rpms in gear. Do i need a chip or different program. that will idle it down?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2008, 04:16 PM
BORTI's Avatar
BLOWN 357
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SAN PEDRO
Age: 43
Posts: 126
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
High Idle

I had a similar problem on a 93 cobra.When I put shorty headers with no converters.I would check for a vacuum leak somewhere, on mine it turned out to be a hose under the car connected to the smog.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2008, 07:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Be sure that you secondary throttle blades are closing all the way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2008, 08:19 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,229
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 103
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
Is it hanging on one of the steps on the choke cam?
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2008, 05:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
all this was also happening before we changed all this so its not a new problem was just hoping changing this stuff may help it some. one guy above said

Be sure that you secondary throttle blades are closing all the way.
Can you explain this to me?? me and my dad are use to older cars with carburetors on them so the whole injection and crap is kind of confusing .
So if u guys could explain these questions u have for me a little better it would be awesome!!, and would changing the throttle body help any?? do you guys know what the stock 1991 5.0's throttle body size is??.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2008, 09:31 AM
BORTI's Avatar
BLOWN 357
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SAN PEDRO
Age: 43
Posts: 126
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Throttle Body

The throttle body doesn't have secondary blades,the guy mispoke thinking you had a carb.The early 5.0 had a 55mm throttle body.You could upgrade to a larger 65mm it wouldn't hurt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2008, 09:40 AM
BORTI's Avatar
BLOWN 357
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SAN PEDRO
Age: 43
Posts: 126
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
idles high

After reading the thread again I see you made some upgrades,the idle is high because its probably running a bit lean.A larger throttle body would help,and eventually putting 24lb injectors.And also a bigger mass air sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2008, 09:47 AM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Pull the EGR valve and see it you can blow through it. I have seen them stuck open by a piece of carbon and it has been the cause of a high idle. If you can blow through it buy a new one..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2008, 10:54 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 426 Times in 365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddclary
i put a jegs "Max Box" upper sheet metal intake plenum, for shortys headers, BBK cold air induction system, and BBK high performance H-pipes with out converters, everything else is stock. The car idles high, even with the throttle screw screwed out all the way. What did i miss. How can i idle the car down? It idles at 1 1/2 thousand rpms, in park, and a little over 1 thousand rpms in gear. Do i need a chip or different program. that will idle it down?
What is it or what was it?

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 05:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what do you mean what is it or what was it??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 05:24 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 426 Times in 365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddclary
what do you mean what is it or what was it??
The engine and the vehicle it's in.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 05:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engine and vehicle is a 1991 mustang 5.0. thats what a 302 i believe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 08:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,764
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 426 Times in 365 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddclary
engine and vehicle is a 1991 mustang 5.0. thats what a 302 i believe
Is it still injected?

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 09:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yup sure is
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 80
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help :)

http://forums.musclemustangfastfords...own/index.html

in here they are talkin about a Throttle position sensor.. what is that and or where is it?? could this be my problem??

"Did you you reset the ecm when you replaced the IAC motor?"
this was also a question asked.. I got the manual to work on my car, but it doesnt say much about this stuff because thats a "take it to a specialist" kinda work.. SO here comes the newb questions.. How can you reset the ECM and or where is it located.. as well as the IAC motor.?

If we change to a 65 throttle body do we have to change the injectors as well as the mass air flow sensor? if we need to what is recomended.. How easy or hard are all these changes??
are the injectors as simple as unplug and plug in??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which oil pump for a 406? high volume or high pressure? 406 ss monte Engine 23 09-10-2006 07:48 PM
85' corvette idles high WakBordr7387 Engine 6 12-30-2005 12:33 PM
Can you build a High Performace Engine that runs idles smooth? Jag Daddy Engine 16 01-23-2004 02:11 AM
Emissions HELP cutsupreme Engine 33 12-27-2003 08:22 AM
More Info, High RPM to Shift on 700R4 Ted Bundy Transmission - Rearend 3 11-25-2003 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.