if i stop holley leak,i can drive my 3 yr build - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:29 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if i stop holley leak,i can drive my 3 yr build

hi guys, i'm here often but never post,today i need help and i hope i can get it.
motor's a 350 mild built in a 75 vette,excellerator intake and an older holley carb.it's a 680 single line double feed with vaccum secondaries.this carb set for years till i bought it.dropped it on the motor and it started right up,but it leaks gas out the little rubber plug on top.
i set to work and bought the proper kit for it along with a spare power valve(mistake #1).
one of the better carb guys installed the kit for me,mistake#2 , now it drips fuel into the intake and floods it out. the gas is coming from near the bottom,he said it wouldn't be a float as it would be wet from the top.
the carb guy is paid and is (not unwilling)unable to help. he had it apart several times and i'm getting tired of it not being fixed.does anyone know what to do with this to trouble shoot it? I would love to bury this in the yard but i have no money to replace it .
any ideas? where should i start ,or should i just take it apart and look and re-assemble like my mechanic did so many times.please help, mike

    Advertisement
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 02:47 PM
71_gto's Avatar
gggggrrrrrrrrrrrrr UGLY GOAT
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kansas
Age: 33
Posts: 54
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
did you check the diaphram?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 03:56 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
it;s good if it came in the rebuild kit.
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:44 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the diaphram for the vaccum secondaries is ripped but i was told it would not matter for starting it.
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:52 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,952
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 88 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeweyman
the diaphram for the vaccum secondaries is ripped but i was told it would not matter for starting it.
A rebuilt carb with a ripped diaphram?
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:41 PM
71_gto's Avatar
gggggrrrrrrrrrrrrr UGLY GOAT
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kansas
Age: 33
Posts: 54
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a ripped diaphram would make it leak... also wont perform right... i would take it to another carb guy or tear through it again.. there are many sites on the net that have tech info for rebuilds....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:43 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the diaphram for the vaccum secondaries didn't come in the rebuild kit.it floods gas down the primary ports,there is no fuel in the secondary ports, when it's dry you can see it form on the primary side.
the vac secondary diaphram is on the rear of the carb so i don't think it's the problem.
if you put the fuel line on the carb and turn the key to build fuel pressure, it does not leak,when you give it the primer shot it runs on and then drips apparently until the bowls are empty i guess (about an ounce).
i started taking it apart and realized i have no clue what to look for . i think maybe he used a wrong gasket but all looks normal to the amature eye.
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 07:45 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
note to above, i have 6.5 pounds pressure.
by running on i mean that it runs and then trickles and then drips.
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:00 PM
steve t's Avatar
ex biker, now hotrodder
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NC
Age: 64
Posts: 863
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
did you check float level, car running at idle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:37 PM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
right now it sits atop a pan over the intake with fuel hooked up. i tried it before i knew it was leaking and washed the engine down, had to change oil and filter and take the plugs out till the chambers dried out.
If you put it on dry and hook it up,it will run but barely,and with a ton of smoke and no idle ,it floods out as soon as it stalls,then you get to dry it out again.
is the fact that it's the bottom of the carb that gets wet significant?tried changing the powervalve but that's not the leak. if i hold the metering block and blow in the jet,the air goes thru,is this normal.
it must be something simple as it was not like this before the rebuild, just the float stuck.
i'm losing faith in taking her maiden voyage this summer,man what a bummer
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:45 PM
71_gto's Avatar
gggggrrrrrrrrrrrrr UGLY GOAT
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: kansas
Age: 33
Posts: 54
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
just a question but is your choke man and is it rigged open.. as i see so commonly..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,707
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Where exactly is the gas coming out of? The primary boosters? Below the throttle blades? You're right the torn vacume diaphram will have no effect on how the car starts and runs on the primary side. It basically sounds to me like the float level is set too high or the needle and seat just aren't sealing. If the needle and seat aren't holding the incoming fuel back it will empty out of the fuel bowl through the boosters and out the vent hole. Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:03 PM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 37
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the carb is flooding it will leak out of the boosters first. This will make its way to the butterflies, and then leak into the intake. In fact, most leaks will make it into the intake if they aren't fuel line related.

Your carb guy is a crook. He needs to find another line of work.

I think you have a 780 CFM carb. Holley never made a 680. Either that or it is a 600.

There are a lot of places a Holley can leak from. Fill the carb up and open the butterflies without the engine running. Shine a flashlight through the throttle bores and look for exactly where the gas is coming from. Then post again. I need to know if it is coming out of the boosters or the transition slots, etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:09 AM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the booster or transition slots,sorry i don't know the lingo.it's coming in when you give it the first pump of gas,instead of stopping , it flows,then drips.it is below the top butterflies.if i wind the car over now to supply pressure,it will not leak,only after you turn the butterflies.
i think the choke is manual,it's not hooked up yet.
the carb is a real oddball, that's why i liked it(stupid uh)it was only used in production in 1968 and only in the 440 dodge .it's been awhile but i'm sure i got the cfm from holley when i emailed them while researching.
today maybe i'll set the carb up higher,get the flashlight so i can see exactly where the fluid enters the carb.let you know this evening.
__________________
"BE ALERT" the world needs more lerts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2005, 05:33 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: PICTURE TEST
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: york pa
Age: 52
Posts: 2,795
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
carb

If it was a production holley and not a aftermarket holley the guy that rebuilt it might not have been paying attention......He probably use a standard holley rebuild kit and he might have the wrong meetering block gaskets on it....

Before you go any futher you really need to check the float level. Someone else suggested it but i don't think i seen a reply from you if you checked it... It could be as simple as a piece of dirt stuck in the needle and seat....

Can you post a picture of the carb so we can tell you want to do first????

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
this is a saver.... GM build codes TooMany2count General Rodding Tech 24 11-23-2009 09:36 AM
Ruff running 340 with Holley carb in drive. Rez Engine 1 01-14-2005 07:36 AM
holley carbon build up alex Engine 1 08-28-2001 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.