Ignition switch - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2012, 05:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ignition switch

I just replaced my ignition switch with a cheap duralast switch. My problem is still existing. I have a write up in the tranny section with the exact problem that it is doing. My question is, is there a possibility that the switch was a bad switch? Has anyone ever ran into this, replacing a ignition switch and finding out it was bad?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-14-2012, 05:42 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
I don't read the tranny section...... but there is always the possiblity of a bad new part. What's the issue?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2012, 12:55 AM
JeffB's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 1,701
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts
Switch Problem

Original switches in older cars are not made to handle increased loads,my '54 has A/C,electric fuel pump and electric fan and sound system it did not last long so I read this: Custom Cars Classic Hotrods Streetrods-Watsons StreetWorks and added the 70 AMP relay and additional relays to these accessories as well as the headlights which are now much brighter and since adding the relays have had zero problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2012, 04:38 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffB View Post
Original switches in older cars are not made to handle increased loads,my '54 has A/C,electric fuel pump and electric fan and sound system it did not last long so I read this: Custom Cars Classic Hotrods Streetrods-Watsons StreetWorks and added the 70 AMP relay and additional relays to these accessories as well as the headlights which are now much brighter and since adding the relays have had zero problems.

So since the switch is not made to handle additional loads, do you think that by tapping into the two power wires on the switch for a remote/security system would cause the faulty codes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2012, 04:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy View Post
I don't read the tranny section...... but there is always the possiblity of a bad new part. What's the issue?

Well, basically I'm throwing a few codes:

p0740- torque converter clutch circuit

p0785- shift/timing solenoid

p1860- solenoid circuit electrical

After I clear the codes they seem to keep pending. This doesn't happen constantly but at least once a day when I go to take off from a stopped position I have to have the pedal almost to the floor just to get it moving. It's seeming like when it does act up I'm missing 1st and OD. At this point I pull over and clear codes, even if there is none to clear, and then turn the truck on and off a few times. It seems to act normal again after that.

After doing some research I found someone having the same exact issue and throwing the same codes. He changed the ignition switch and it worked. It seemed to work for several other people as well.

I change the ignition switch and its still doing what it was doing, which is exactly how the people in my research were explaining it.

Do you think that the ignition switch that I put in was faulty? I can't really see there being anything wrong with the tranny because when its not acting up, it's working fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2012, 04:25 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
Sounds as if you have something back feeding into the tranny sircuit..... I'd disconnect anything you've added to the key-on circuit and see if your problem goes away. If it does then you need to find a different pwr source wire etc...... Don't know if this will fix your issue or not..... but if you relaced the switch and it has the same symptom and before....odds are the orig switch wasn't bad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2012, 12:13 PM
JeffB's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 1,701
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 88 Times in 81 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy View Post
Sounds as if you have something back feeding into the tranny sircuit..... I'd disconnect anything you've added to the key-on circuit and see if your problem goes away. If it does then you need to find a different pwr source wire etc...... Don't know if this will fix your issue or not..... but if you relaced the switch and it has the same symptom and before....odds are the orig switch wasn't bad
X2 Instead of tapping into an existing circuit stop by NAPA and pickup a fuse holder the type that will accommodate 4-6 fuses and run a 8-10 gauge feed wire direct off the positive battery terminal.I like this style shown in the picture to add circuits.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	73820.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	8.0 KB
ID:	67462  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2012, 02:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think that I figured it out. I spoke with the crutchfield tech. today, the one who helped me install the remote start system. Seems that I missed a wire. Before he told me that there was no ignition 2 wire. Today he looked over the diagrams again for my truck and found that there is a ignition 2 wire (white). I asked if not hooked up, would it throw tranny codes and he said it would. So I hooked it up and so far so good.

Before I was either getting tranny codes on the "service engine light" or I was getting pending codes. After making the change I immediately checked for codes. There were none showing and none pending. I'm thinking that that did the trick. I hope at least.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-16-2012, 08:27 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,064
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
Good to hear you got it figured out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ignition switch person Electrical 1 11-06-2007 05:49 AM
toggle switch / ignition switch help help! 39chevy Electrical 4 08-18-2006 06:04 PM
Ignition Switch?? or what ponybuster Electrical 13 12-29-2003 09:17 PM
Ignition Switch dollybud General Rodding Tech 2 10-30-2003 07:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.