I'm getting small bubbles/specs when I spray Clear Coat - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2011, 03:41 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

I'm getting small bubbles/specs when I spray Clear Coat

Ok so I need help figuring out what I'm doing wrong. I'm a newbie to painting, this is my 3rd car, but I upgraded my gun, compressor, and so on and now I'm getting what appear to be small bubbles in my clear coat. I'll give you a run down of everything I'm using and hopefully someone has some advice.
Ok here goes, I'm using a Asturo AOM HVLP gun with a 1.3 tip and spraying my clear coat at around 27psi. I use a small water filter at the gun and psi gauge. The CFM recommendation is 6 for this gun and my compressor goes up to 9 so that shouldnt be a problem although it does kick on after 1 min of continuos spraying. I'm also spraying a universal clear with a medium hardener over dupont paint and lacquer primer. My clear to hardener ratio was 4:1, I'm overlapping 50% and I was spraying at 75 degrees. Also I'm in a garage, dont have a paint booth. Now here is where it gets weird, when I sprayed the front of the car the bubbles or whatever you want to call them appeared all over right away, but when i sprayed the back of the car, where there was less wind there seemed to be no bubbles.. So maybe the wind played a factor in it or perhaps I was laying it on too thick or maybe I need a better filter?? Can i just sand the car with 1500 grit and hope they go away? What do you think
John

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-29-2011, 03:55 PM
http://www.backfalt.fi/indexse

Last journal entry: Torque Converter
Last photo: