I'm going in T-400 rebuild advice - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2011, 09:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

I'm going in T-400 rebuild advice

Ok, so I have a TH400 in my K20 Chevy truck. It used to be a diesel, but the motor is trashed and I have a new 350 at the machine shop as we speak. The internal transmission cooler blew out inside the radiator, and since everything else is getting done, I might as well do the transmission while I have it out. I've never done a trans before and would like to find a good step by step manual to go by. I know I'm going to need a new converter, but other than that, who knows? I'd rather get this right the first time and I heard it can be done with regular tools, plus a few extras would be nice. Thin wall socket, press, c -clamps, dial indicator, feeler gauge, and a clean *** table! If anybody has any recommendations on a GOOD Manual "or anything else for that matter" for the TH400 please let me know. I hate buying manuals that aren't worth a Dookie! Thanks for the help.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2011, 10:25 AM

Last photo:

Ok, has anybody used the kits from Monster? I know you get what you pay for in these kits, but I have literally no idea what to be looking for in a kit. I'd rather stay away from Ebay in this case.
Old 05-03-2011, 11:00 AM

Last photo:

I haven't seen or read anything good about Monster.
You'll need to disassemble & inspect the Trans to know what parts will be needed. Even Master Kits don't include everything.
http://www.makcotransmissionparts.com/3L80-400.html
http://www.transmissionpartsusa.com/...arts_s/651.htm

Build Info:
ATSG Manual 400/3L80