i'm new to the crowd. help me out guys - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2002, 02:28 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post i'm new to the crowd. help me out guys

well i'm not sure if i really belong here. i love hotrods but as far as my own projects i'm more of a truck guy. i just bought a 78 chevy K20. it has a 455 olds in it. seems to run real well (except for a slight exhaust leak) i haven't dealt with any olds engines at all. so to begin with what is the diff between the rocket and whatever else was offered? mine is a rocket, so i'm told. i have no idea what it came out of first. what does the 455 usually run as far as HP and torque if it's pretty much stock? i'm pretty sure the guys that did this didn't use an adapter to mount it up to the transmission. so i'm guessing its the transmission that was with the engine to begin with. and guesses to what it might be? or how can i look and tell.
i have access to another olds 455 that's in a 1976 olds ninety eight of my grandfathers. would you suggest keeping that motor around for parts or should i look somewhere else if they are ever needed?
well thanks for any help. sorry for all the questions

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-04-2002, 02:36 PM
Slider in Wa.

Last photo:

Don`t be sorry for questions. This is the right place. If these guys and gals can`t answer your questions they will know who can. Welcome. But i don`t have any answers for ya. Try and get a hold of the Madd synergit on here. I think he runs the same engine.
Slider in Wa.
Old 10-04-2002, 03:32 PM

Talking

Darn truck guys!!!
Old 10-04-2002, 07:49 PM

Thumbs up

Hey man whats up?