I'm the new guy with a lotta questions. Can you answer all of 'em? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2009, 08:38 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

I'm the new guy with a lotta questions. Questions concerning Engine disassembly

Man! I spent like 30 minutes writing down like 20 questions. The site said I wasn't logged on and told me I wasn't posting a valid thread. Now my thread is gone. How annoying! Sorry, i'm just venting. So unfortunately, this post will be much less coherent than my last attempt. Anyways here are my questions. I'm a newbie by the way.

1) So I've got a 351W engine sitting in my shed. The money set aside to rebuild it was put into tools and workspace. Now it'll have to sit there for up to a month, and it's mostly disassembled. What would be the best way to shield it from rust? Would layering it with WD-40 do the trick? What are your suggestions?

2) Crankshaft rotation. I had trouble rotating the pistons to bottom dead center when the crankshaft accessories were removed. What should I use to rotate a stubborn crankshaft next time? Would crank rotator sockets do the job? What do you guys do?

3) I'm a newbie, so I make mistakes. The big one was that I mixed the rod bearing inserts. I have no idea which insert goes with which rod. Does this mean I'll have to machine the crankshaft and/or rods? I'll probably have to buy new bearings won't I? Will this be the same case for the main bearings as well?

4) What is a journal? What's it gotta do with the bearing? I'm confused, please help.