I'm no expert, but.... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2007, 06:12 PM

Last journal entry: Roller Rockers
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

I'm no expert, but....

... is there something major wrong with the front suspension on this car? Scariest ever, perhaps?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1931-...QQcmdZViewItem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-03-2007, 06:17 PM
You got a leaky spark tube...

Last wiki edit: Rearend removal
Last journal entry: General Lee
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 19

That is an interesting setup. Is that off the shelf tubing used? I hope those are at least Grade 8 bolts holding the axle on.
Old 06-05-2007, 01:13 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Body and exterior tips Last photo:

I think that no matter what that tubing is it will crack and break before it gets around the block.

Those tie rods ends have some give but not enough and those bolts through the holes in the tubing will act as knives and split that tubing as it twists.
Old 06-05-2007, 01:21 PM
Born To Be Mild

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Looks more provisional than functional.
Old 06-05-2007, 02:14 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Really guys, it is hoky, but what is the difference between that and hairpin radious rods? If that tubing is seamless and thick enough wall, it will work. There is some binding, and the I beam axle will help with that. But honestly, it is not that much different than the zillions of cars that have been built with hairpin radious rods, split wishbones and tie rods ends stuck on them.

Brian
Old 06-05-2007, 02:44 PM
Home School Valedictorian