Hot Rod Forum banner

Industreal oven

5K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  twor4 
#1 ·
:thumbup: hello my name is Juan and I'm new to Windsor Ontario,I have been an Industrial painter/powder coat and sandblaster for the past 6 years,since I've moved to this town I havent been able to find any work In my related field,,,so I have decided to start my own business,,money is tight and that's why i want to build my own oven,,Is there anyone that can give me some tips on how to put one together,,,I will be usin the oven for powder coating chassis,rims and bike frames,,,,thanx

#3 ·
welcome....One of my neighbors built one...It was from a large industrial cooking oven from some food processing/packing plant, I believe

Moving this to the tools/garage section.....guess thats where it fits best

#4 ·
I will share how I did it. This is not to say it is the best way for anyone but it is working well for me.

I have been doing a lot for powdercoating in a ceramic kiln. I like kilns for several reasons. Ceramics has been dying over the last couple years because it is a labor intensive industry. The cost of labor has been tanking the industry. Second, a lot of the hobbyist or hobby businesses which are still around have upgraded to automated kilns which mean

You can pick up a nice non-automated kiln for $1-300.

Kilns also hold heat and recover nearly instantaneously form lid openings since they are a bit overkill for powder coating.

Kiln can get up to temp in short order;

Kiln you can easily do ceramic or other coatings which require higher temps. Mine is programed to go to 2100 degrees.

Hanging things then top loading is easier then trying to lay things on cookie sheets sideways.

I used a programmable circuit and an OOPIC to control mine but they are no longer around. The Arduino would work for this:

http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10001_10001_2121105_-1