info needed on tig welding supplies to buy - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2012, 03:15 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

info needed on tig welding supplies to buy

hello all.

well lets start of by telling everyone that I am a rookie with the tig. so please dont make to much fun of me

I have a lincoln tig 175 pro (like this)

gas is pure argon.
cyl set to 20

most of my work will be for automotive stuff
eg intake manifold, brackets etc

I went with 3/32 tungsten since it seems like a good size for my kind of work.
ceramic cup size of size 7

for stainless steel I went with Ceriated

and for aluminum went with Zirconiated

first like to hear your thoughts on the gear I am planning to work with? did I get the right stuff?

from the little work I have been messing with stainless steel seems to be coming along. not great but getting there with practice.

aluminum I am having some trouble. not to clean of welds etc

I wanted to ask what is the correct amps setting to set tig machine at? for lets say 3/32-1/8 material

and also wanted to ask if I should use glass cups instead of the ceramic cups(pink)

Advertisement

Last edited by jss; 01-23-2012 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2012, 01:00 PM
bentwings

Last photo: