info transfer form old hard drive to new - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:17 PM
ChevelleSS_LS6's Avatar
Jeep XJ and a Javelin
 
Last wiki edit: Compression test
Last journal entry: August 9, part III
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 1,610
Wiki Edits: 7

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
info transfer form old hard drive to new

I'm getting a Compaq Presario with an AMD Sempron, 40GB hard drive, and 256mb of ram.

How would I transfer info from my old computer's hard drive (10 GB) to the new one? (games, pictures, nice new mustang screensavers) I took A+ certification classes in high school and so I'm fairly knowledgeable with the hardware aspect of things. I'd also like to use that 10Gb hard drive as a "slave" (secondary) drive also. How would I remove windows XP off the 10Gb?

Any help would be appreciated. I have about a million (really about 2000, maybe 2500) pics of cars, fuel altereds, and school stuff on it, so it's a lot of stuff to go and re-do.
thanks,
matty

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:24 PM
StrokeofGenius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Age: 33
Posts: 48
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Your Question really delagates your answer...



If you gonna use you old HD as a secondery/slave drive you'll be a to copy all the files on that old HD to you new 40gigHD just dont copy over any windows files. You'll really just want Program Files, Documents, Pics, Shared Folder/Files, Etc.

good luck,
Stroke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2004, 12:29 PM
ChevelleSS_LS6's Avatar
Jeep XJ and a Javelin
 
Last wiki edit: Compression test
Last journal entry: August 9, part III
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 1,610
Wiki Edits: 7

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Stroke, thanks for the Godspeed and "use common sense matt" help.

I hooked the 10gig as a slave drive to another PC not on the internet, and it wouldn't work as a slave drive. I think it has someting to do with dip switches (real little switches on motherboard) or something in the BIOS (the gibberish that comes on the computer when booting up before it says "broken windows 98 is loading")

xp has only frozen up on me 1 or 2 times before the old computer died (I have a thread on it, it's going to be victim to a bernz-o-matic torch), so it's much more reliable than 95 and 98.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-15-2004, 06:12 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,972
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 89 Times in 72 Posts
Yep, you have to set the bios to recognize a second drive. Are they connected to the same 80 pin cable? Which one is connected to the last connector on the cable? That one should be the master, the middle connector is for the slave.

You did set the jumpers on the drive correctly right?
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 08:45 PM
ChevelleSS_LS6's Avatar
Jeep XJ and a Javelin
 
Last wiki edit: Compression test
Last journal entry: August 9, part III
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age: 28
Posts: 1,610
Wiki Edits: 7

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When I put the old hard drive in my new computer I set the jumpers right and it was all great. I transferred the information, and reformatted the old hard drive.

thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2004, 09:30 PM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,972
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 89 Times in 72 Posts
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:06 PM
Cole's Avatar
Now if I could just afford Gas
 

Last journal entry: Stripping it down Music please!
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 49
Posts: 71
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
STOP!!! Listen, all you have to do is install the new hard drive in you old system as a slave. Search Google for the software "disk clone". I can not remember the exact site but there is a 30 trial version you can download for free. Install it on the old system and it will copy your operating system and everything to your new drive. Take the new drive out old the old system and re-install it into your new system and BAM! Your done!!! No installing the os BUT it will want to run the device wizard and install the new drives for your motherboard and expansion cards but thats not biggie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodders' Lounge posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.