Inline fuses. Where do I really need them?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2012, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Inline fuses. Where do I really need them??

So I am starting to revise the wiring in my 1970 C10. For the most part it is good shape . I just want to clean it up and get rid of the unnecessary equipment.
Question I have for the Gurus of the electrical world is. Where do I need inline fuses?
Do I need one going to my HEI? I have been reading it both ways on many different sites.
Also I installed a new Lokar kickdown switch. Does this need one?
If I do use inline fuses is there a rule of thumb as to which size fuse to use with certain size wires?

Thanks in advance for your help.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2012, 02:17 PM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,466
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 123 Times in 108 Posts
all circuits except the starter solenoid need a fuse
or a breaker as in most headlights
weather it is in line or in a fuse box matters not
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2012, 03:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What about a fuseable link. Is this neeeded anywhere in the system of a vehicle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2012, 04:28 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,093
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
A fuseable link is a fuse...... slow-blow but still a fuse. I have my entire elec system, minus the starter, going thru a 70 amp maxi-fuse then to the fuse box etc.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ford inline six to 2300 inline 4 swap. 74chevyflat Engine 3 05-20-2010 10:12 PM
fuses wayneair Electrical 7 11-05-2005 06:14 PM
confused about fuses 70 Monte Hotrodders' Lounge 8 09-05-2004 08:55 PM
blowing fuses MIKE T Electrical 3 02-09-2003 01:53 PM
Fuses Juansupreme Electrical 5 12-17-2002 06:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.