input shaft - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2004, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ill
Posts: 171
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
input shaft

i have a torqe converter that i bought from summit 350/400. i have a 400 in my vega. the vega is going under constuction so im putting a 350/350 setup in my camaro. when i went to put the converter on nothing spin and spin and spin and nothing happend. and the 20 pound didnt put it on so i figured there was something wrong. my crude measuring showed that the 400 in put shaft is smaller than the 350. therefore not allowing it to go on. my question is how many different input shafts did gm come out with on the 350 and 400. i always thoght that the input and output shaft was the same.
thanks for any help
denny

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2004, 08:55 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 30
Thanked 298 Times in 278 Posts
All the 350 and 400 non lockups I've worked on were the same input shaft. Now the tailshafts are a different story. Early 400's had small (350) output shafts in certain situations and different style large shafts also. O-ring and non O-ring and several different style yokes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2004, 09:09 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,185
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 421
Thanked 108 Times in 104 Posts
Cool

as BOBCRMAN points out there is a difference in lock up T-350 and non lock up. T-400 was never a lock up from the factory.

Does the T-350 input shaft have a smaller smooth section with O ring at the end of it? That makes it a lock up t-350C or 250C.

you can NOT cut this piece off and use the converter, If you look at the fixed splined area( non rotating) you will see a difference in location from the t-400 to the lock up t-350
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2004, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ill
Posts: 171
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what is a 250c. sorry ive never heard of it before.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2004, 06:35 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,185
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 421
Thanked 108 Times in 104 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by 85 regal
what is a 250c. sorry ive never heard of it before.

========== a T-250C is a light duty T-350C. The 250C also has a band for second gear instead of a clutch pack.

With the band the 250C has a threaded stud with nut that sticks out from the side of the case near the cooler line connections. this stud is for band adjustment
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2004, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ill
Posts: 171
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i looked for any adjustment but i couldnt find anything. is there a casting # or something that i could look up. the first thing that i see on the tranny is a big f at the top of the bell housing. thanks for the help guys. this suxs cuz i could have already had the car running by now and this is the only thing besides the driveshaft holding me up.
denny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.