Inquiring about 700r4 tv cable - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:39 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Inquiring about 700r4 tv cable

Will a incorrectly adjusted tv cable cause the trans to only **** up to the next gear at or near wot, and higher in the rpm range?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:24 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Body
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gastonia, N.C.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Not only that it will burn up the transmission in a hurry if it is not correctly adjusted. There are several sources on the internet that sell the proper brackets etc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2013, 02:24 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I adjusted the TV cable per a source i found online, and it still doesn't want to shift unless its near the top of the rpm range. Unsure where to go from here. I have a newly rebuilt trans laying in my shop, but don't want to change it out unless it has to be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2013, 07:45 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,187
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 422
Thanked 108 Times in 104 Posts
Does the cable have any slack in it with throttle at the closed position?

If the minimum cable setting is not enough, the trans will go into "fail safe " mode IF the fail safe check ball is installed. This fail safe mode will cause high RPM shifts like WOT and the shifts will be firm.

You may also have a worn out valve bore for the TV valve in the valve body. Oil pressure can get behind the inner TV valve and force it over to MAX stroke... that will also cause late - firm shifts like a WOT
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2013, 08:15 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley View Post
Does the cable have any slack in it with throttle at the closed position?

If the minimum cable setting is not enough, the trans will go into "fail safe " mode IF the fail safe check ball is installed. This fail safe mode will cause high RPM shifts like WOT and the shifts will be firm.

You may also have a worn out valve bore for the TV valve in the valve body. Oil pressure can get behind the inner TV valve and force it over to MAX stroke... that will also cause late - firm shifts like a WOT
Thanks crosley, I will have to check in the morning to be sure. Whats strange is this all started happening over night. When I first put the trans in the truck it had problems like slipping in gear and flaring between shifts. Adjusted the tv cable and it seemed to fix the problem. Then one cold mornimg on the way to work it just started hanging in gear but would finally shift. It progressed to only shifting high in The rpm range with in the same day.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2013, 10:40 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
If it's not what Crosley suggested, it may be a problem with the Governor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SSedan64 For This Useful Post:
Slammedsi (02-16-2013)
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2013, 07:36 AM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
If it's not what Crosley suggested, it may be a problem with the Governor.
Thanks SS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2013, 04:40 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley View Post
Does the cable have any slack in it with throttle at the closed position?

If the minimum cable setting is not enough, the trans will go into "fail safe " mode IF the fail safe check ball is installed. This fail safe mode will cause high RPM shifts like WOT and the shifts will be firm.

You may also have a worn out valve bore for the TV valve in the valve body. Oil pressure can get behind the inner TV valve and force it over to MAX stroke... that will also cause late - firm shifts like a WOT

Ive checked to make sure there wasnt any slack. There isnt any. Readjusted the TV cable one more time for good measure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
If it's not what Crosley suggested, it may be a problem with the Governor.
Moved on to the Governor, Pulled it to make sure everything moved as it should. Cleaned well with Break cleaner. Soaked it in clean fresh trans fluid and reinstalled it.

Still not wanting to shift unless its really hi in the rpm range, Or at WOT. Is there anything else to check before i move on to pulling this unit and installing another one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2013, 08:01 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
After letting the truck set for a full 24hrs, I got in to drive it to my shop. To my surprise it shifted... I went ahead and drove around town a for a while. It only hung I gear twice during a thirty minute drive around town. I'm so lost on what is causing this problem. Suggestions are very welcome at this point...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2013, 02:34 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Starting to sound like trash or wear causing binding, TV valve/sleeve maybe.
If it does it again, disconnect the TV cable, engine running, E-brake on, snatch cable a dozen or so times & reconnect.

There's also a Governor screen under the Valvebody at rear that can cause problems if restricted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to SSedan64 For This Useful Post:
Slammedsi (02-18-2013)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2013, 05:03 PM
Slammedsi's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Vernon, TX
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 133
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
Starting to sound like trash or wear causing binding, TV valve/sleeve maybe.
If it does it again, disconnect the TV cable, engine running, E-brake on, snatch cable a dozen or so times & reconnect.

There's also a Governor screen under the Valvebody at rear that can cause problems if restricted.
Thanks SS, I think at this point there is not point in not changing it out. The other 700R4 I have is already set up to support 500whp and has a shift kit and other goodies.

Might as well get it over with...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700R4 Tv cable RatRodDick Transmission - Rearend 1 09-14-2012 01:52 PM
700r4 Tv Cable Custom10 Transmission - Rearend 17 05-14-2010 05:35 AM
700r4 TV cable? runn141 Transmission - Rearend 1 02-09-2009 01:43 AM
700r4 tv cable toolman76usa Transmission - Rearend 3 07-30-2007 03:00 PM
700r4 tv cable ? novaman30274 Transmission - Rearend 2 02-23-2007 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.