insane or a working frankenstein? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2005, 05:02 PM
jesse01's Avatar
mini me
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: titusville, fl.
Age: 31
Posts: 802
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
insane or a working frankenstein?

ok you guys ready for this? hope you can keep up don't let me loose you here

alright i was getting ready to rebuild my 383 stroker and i already have my new pistons, there for a 5.7" rod. Then i had a change of mind and was going to return them for a 6.00" rod, but then i had this monstrosity of an idea

what if i kept my pistons that i have now (for a 5.7" rod) put them on a 6" rod & a 302 crankshaft w/a 3.00 stroke then wrapped it all together inside of a 350 block?

ok i know somebody out there will say it won't work just because these parts werent' originally ment to be together, but i don't believe thats true (obviously). Heres what i came to conclude thus far:
I take the stroke of my crank & divide it in half which will give me 1.5", than i add the 6" rodd in there,& last but not least i throw in the distance from the wrist pin to the piston head which is 1.56"

ok you still w/me? this is what i got so far:
1.5" + 6" + 1.56" =9.06"

alright everyone knows that the deck height is 9.025 (unless it's modified, or a custom block, or something) so if you take the deck height 9.025" - 9.06" stroke = -0.035"

do you fellas think i could take the crank to the machine shop and have them grind & index it to decrease the stroke a little bit so my pistons would be just inside the deck height? I think it might be possible, but every motorhead is like a doctor it's nice to have a 2nd oponion, or a 3rd, or a 4th,etc......

thanx all

Jesse

    Advertisement

Last edited by jesse01; 04-17-2005 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2005, 06:21 PM
280zxWith305's Avatar
<--- Gas Bootlegger
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South Georgia
Age: 30
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok and what are you trying to get out of all of this? what CI do you intend on pulling off with this setup... or are you more intrested in a rev'ver?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2005, 06:25 PM
jesse01's Avatar
mini me
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: titusville, fl.
Age: 31
Posts: 802
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
no idea?

was just a wicked thaught, and wanted another oponion on it 1st
still thinking it over especially since i just priced a 302 crank @ $1000
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2005, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 493
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
A 383 piston, that uses a 5.7" rod, doesn't have a 1.56" pin height.......Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2005, 07:20 PM
NAIRB's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: cimarron, ks
Posts: 1,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Dan is correct, your compression distance on a 5.7 383 piston will be around 1.425. 1.875+5.7+1.425= 9.0

(approximate)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 05:43 PM
jesse01's Avatar
mini me
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: titusville, fl.
Age: 31
Posts: 802
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thats about right

I finally found the info on 'em there 1.433

so 1.875" + 5.7" + 1.433 =9.008 thats about right for a 383, right?

i wanted to make a one of a kind, but i think i'll stick w/ the 383 insted
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:13 AM
johnsongrass1's Avatar
Race it, Don't rice it!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbia, Mo
Age: 38
Posts: 4,080
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
With a 2.0 rod/stroke ratio, the engine would be a lazy till better than 7000. You would have to turn it near 9800 to make power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:42 PM
matt_ramsey's Avatar
Your Basic Moron
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Decatur, IL
Age: 30
Posts: 72
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
350 and 302 are both 4" bore engines. If you put a 3" 302 crank in a 350 block, you just get a 302.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2005, 12:46 PM
matt_ramsey's Avatar
Your Basic Moron
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Decatur, IL
Age: 30
Posts: 72
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
and for information's sake a standard 302 also uses a 5.7" rod, that's why the figures work out so conveniently.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-26-2005, 02:31 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 288
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Run a 283 crank instead! Hah.. well you probably can't do that given journal sizes..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2005, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Then there's the 5.94" PM rod made by GM for the '94-'96 L99 4.3L V-8 Caprice motor (AKA the "baby LT1"), which used a 3" stroke & pistons with the same height as 350 pistons.

1.50 + 1.56 + 5.94 = 9.00

1.625 + 1.433+ 5.94 = 8.998 (that's with a 307/327 crank)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedo and odometer not working segge Transmission - Rearend 3 03-29-2005 09:37 PM
Speedometer not working??? Mightymouse Body - Exterior 2 06-24-2004 04:41 AM
How to get AC working? Meangreen General Rodding Tech 7 04-26-2004 11:34 PM
gas gauge mysteriously starts working again bullheimer Electrical 11 02-13-2004 05:12 PM
Factory Tach not working Killer80RS Engine 2 10-23-2003 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.