Hot Rod Forum banner

Installing a chev small block in the rear of an chev s-10

2K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  vegadeth 
#1 ·
Does anybody know if this has been done? I have an s-10 extend a cab,and i'm thinking of installing a chev 350 sbc,starting the motor just behind the drivers seat and then moving the rear axle to the rear of the truck.Using a 350 turbo tranny and linking the yoke of the tranny directly to the diffirential.Any input on this would be greatly appreciated

#2 ·
I'm no expert on this, but, the engine and trans are mounted solid and the rear end has to move up and down. Hooking the trans directly to the rear end sounds like you'll be snapping the tail off the trans first bump you hit. You'll have to have some type of driveshaft with u-joints. As far as is it possible to mount it behind the drivers seat? Yes! In drag racing they have wheelstanders that do exactly that. Anyway, it can be done but there's alot of thinking you need to do before hand. Good Luck!

Racenuts

#3 ·
Thanks for the input racenuts,maybe i did not explain very well, but i'm putting a universal joint between the tranny yoke and the diffirential'i,m thinking along the lines of a ratchet, with a universal joint, whats your thoughts on that senerio, thanks again.

#6 ·
Thanks to you all out there that supplied the info, this site is great,and thanks oldcarguy i did not know about the s-series site. I,m new to the S-10 , i'm just looking to be a bit different, with wanting to put the engine in the rear.Maybe somebody also can tell me whats needed to put the sbc up front in the proper place headers or manifolds, rad , oil pan etc...and thanks again guys!

#7 ·
Heeeeeeeeey Vegadeath, it can and has been done many many times. Guy here closed to me put a mid engine 350 in a Toyota, looks cool, lot of work though. Seen a 350 mid engine in a Izuzu too, was on the cover of Mini Truckin in the early 90's, was a deep plum purple with a nashty cromed out 350 in the bed.