Hot Rod Forum banner

installing an egine

3K views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  redlightning 
#1 ·
I'm about to start on my first project, It's a 1963 chevy truck. I was wondering if anyone new a good manuel that I can get to help me install my engine and transmission. I've got the shop manual but it does little good for the acual installation. I'm new to hotrodding always been interested but I fanily got the means to learn
thank.

#3 ·
Installing an engine

Its at least a two man job with the hood off,radiator out and the front clip still in place. The trick is to get the engine in there without damaging anything in the process. I have NEVER seen a book on installing and engine so its trial and error...just be very careful and think about what your doing don't try and jam it in there!!

Tazz

Rat Rods Rule!

#6 ·
Ah come on guys, IMO, it can be done by one person, but you have to be VERY careful with the cherry picker. It is a lot easier with two people though. That way one guy can watch for the wiring and the transmission cooler lines. I did quite a few swaps in my Monte by myself. It can be done, just watch and be careful. Your best bet would be to find a friend that owes you a favor.... LOL

#8 ·
schnitz said:
Ah come on guys, IMO, it can be done by one person, but you have to be VERY careful with the cherry picker. It is a lot easier with two people though. That way one guy can watch for the wiring and the transmission cooler lines. I did quite a few swaps in my Monte by myself. It can be done, just watch and be careful. Your best bet would be to find a friend that owes you a favor.... LOL
i think 1 person can do it too, actually its quite easy. ive pulled out 3 engines and installed 2 myself(first times) with just a hoist attached to the beam in the garage and pushing the car forward to get the enigne in. even managed to remove the hood myself, ya without droping it or messn up the paint :D

#9 ·
mikeairmex,