Installing guages questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:16 PM
BMM BMM is offline
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not there
Posts: 605
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Installing guages questions

Hello. Im thinking of installing some aftermarket guages, as my cluster swap did not work out veyr well. Who knows, maybe Ill get some digitial ones...

Anywho, do most systems just connect from the sending unit to the guage, with wires to the fusebox for power?

That seems logicial to me, but seems almost too simple. Id like the keep with a custom factoryish style cluster, and if its a matter of just running all the guages to a fuse, I could probably do that.

Thank you.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-13-2007, 03:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sahuarita (Tucson) AZ
Age: 68
Posts: 185
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yup, that's about it.........maybe a little over-simplified, but that's about it. I remember the first time I did that with a 56 Studebaker, I hooked them all up, sat in the seat, closed my eyes and turned the key. They all worked fine when I opened my eyes (well, it took the temp gauge a little time) and I was thrilled! I remember I ran loops from gauge to gauge for the gauge lights. It's not tough....go for it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:32 AM
BMM BMM is offline
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not there
Posts: 605
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How about Odometer hookup? Sorry for the really stupid questions, but do I just set the new one, and plug it in?

Do all the guages go into one spot in the fuse box, or should I put them into the factory locations in the box?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-15-2007, 04:23 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Doc here,

FIRST, in order for the gauges to WORK or be accurate...The senders must be resistance compatable..Refer to your Installation Instructions for this.

BE SURE, your INSTR cluster system isn't on an Instrument regulator (12 volt to regulated 6 volt ) Mopar's and Ford's are good for this..

Daisy Chain ALL the Vcc, (power) wires one gauge to another, then the first inline is the wire going to the fuse.

Do the same IF they have a ground terminal. If not daisy chain each hold down foot to a properly bonded ground.

The Odometer data (depending on the Type system) should be recorded in computer, and refresh when the gauge is powered.


Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two questions about a BBC RObs71Nova Engine 10 07-03-2012 02:55 PM
1940 Ford pickup box and door questions? Skiman Hotrodding Basics 10 04-04-2011 05:50 PM
Some B&M 250 questions, JimDavis maybe? kick_the_reverb Engine 6 05-15-2006 10:26 AM
ANSWERS TO COMMON QUESTIONS -- PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING Jon Hotrodders Site Suggestions and Help 0 07-07-2005 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.