Installing harmonic balancer on small block chevy - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2014, 05:58 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Installing harmonic balancer on small block chevy

I am new to assembling engines and I have a question about installing the harmonic balancer on a SBC. I have a 1-peice rear main GM 350 crate engine that is going in my 56 Chevy. I bought the balancer installation tool and did some research including watching some videos online before installing it. One of the videos from Proform tools made it appear that it takes everything you have to wrench it on there. It even said when you think its all the way you still have more to go. Well, mine was either not quite that hard or the gym is paying off because once mine got tight, i cranked on it probably a whole complete turn before snapping the tool in half. I am pretty confident that the balancer is seated on the crank but my question is could I have damaged the crank forcing the tool to go another turn or did the tool take all of the stress? The crank and water pump pulley line up perfectly so I think it is good to go. I'm just concerned about it and want to make sure I did not screw anything up. I was able to get the broken tool out of the crank.

Thanks,

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-29-2014, 06:09 PM
More for Less Racer

You didn't hurt the crank at all. No worries there. The ProForm tool isn't the strongest, I've seen them broke before if care isn't taken using them.

Don't forget to install the balancer bolt, 60-65 ft.lbs torque
Old 04-29-2014, 09:16 PM