Installing Timing Chain for First Time. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2005, 06:59 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Installing Timing Chain for First Time.

Hi, how ya guys doin.
I just bought myself a pretty nice very solid 71 Chevelle and it came with a 402Big block with a Gear Drive in it.
After driving it home for 8 hours STRAIGHT it drove me nuts..
I need to get that thing out of there, from what the guy told me it is a dual idler gear design.

I have never done this sort of thing before and i have no idea how to go about it.
Money is tight about now so i cant afford to have someone do it for me, besides that wouldnt get me any wrenching experience.
I was planning on throwing a double roller style chain on there just to quiet things up a bit.

So what I need help with is 3 things actually,
One How hard is it for a novice with no motor building skills to do this sort of thing?
Two, Say i had 2-3 people helping me out with it, how long would it take me to actually do the swap? This is my daily driver for the summer and I obviously need it right away.
Three What type of chain would you suggest, i would want to stay under $100 but I want a high quality unit.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2005, 07:56 PM

69ChevelleAddict,

The last question is the easiest. Go to a good parts house and buy what you need from them.
The other two questions get a bit harder.
Depending on the manuf. of the gear drive you may need a stock timing cover to replace what you take off during the gear drive swap out.