installing torque converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
installing torque converter

This is only the second time i have ever pulled my 350 SBC and transmission, and the first time i bolted the transmission back on the engine, i had to take it to a transmission shop. They asked how i bolted the transmission back to the block, and i evidently did not do it correctly, because they said the torque converter broke some kind of gears off inside the transmission. I really don't want to go through that again, so could someone please tell me proper way to put the transmission back on the engine.

Thanks,
plthomp

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:51 PM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
K I S S
The torque converter has a notch where it slides onto the transmission shaft. It will move on part way, stop, turn it, then clunk, then move on some more.

You probably only had it on 1/2 way and when you bolted the trans to the engine, the torque converter pushed the shaft rearward damaging the front pump or gears.

The TC needs to be recessed into the bellhousing about 5/8 inch or so when fully seated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for the quick reply, so i need to install the torque converter on the transmission first? That is what i did wrong last time, i installed the torque converter on the engine first, and then twisted the transmission onto the torque converter and bolted the bell housing to the engine.

Thank you for the information, you saved me a trip back to the transmission shop.

plthomp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:02 PM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Right. It's heavy watch out...... also pour a 2-3 quarts of ATF in the converter shaft hole before slipping it on the shaft.

I'm a big believer of synthetic ATF, but it is $ 6 per quart.. Check with your trans shop for advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:05 PM
car builder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: kentucky
Age: 42
Posts: 100
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Make sure that you that push and turn it,So that it lock in properly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 06:24 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 27
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Do not forget the fluid in the converter. Thats the second most important thing to locating the converter all the way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:07 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
from the looks of things, take it to the trans shop for the install...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:38 PM
Will I ever get it done?
 

Last journal entry: More Interior
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Age: 57
Posts: 1,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It's not that hard. You just have to be careful. You have three things which must be engaged. You have to engage the splines on the input shaft into the driven member of the torque converter. You have to engage the splines of the stator shaft into the stator in the converter. And you have to engage the pump tangs into the notches on the converter hub. Of course, you can't see any of this happen because it is internal. Turn and lightly push the converter until it drops all the way in. Place a straight edge across the bell housing and make sure the converter is deeper into the bell housing than the flex plate extends beyond the back of the block. When you are pushing the tranny to the back of the block, the bell housing should contact the block and the converter should have about 1/8" or so clearance to the flex plate. If the converter touches the flex plate before the bell housing touches the block, STOP. Re-seat the converter and try again.
As a lot of guys already said, put fluid in the converter before you install it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2007, 06:14 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsdad
It's not that hard. You just have to be careful. You have three things which must be engaged. You have to engage the splines on the input shaft into the driven member of the torque converter. You have to engage the splines of the stator shaft into the stator in the converter. And you have to engage the pump tangs into the notches on the converter hub. Of course, you can't see any of this happen because it is internal. Turn and lightly push the converter until it drops all the way in. Place a straight edge across the bell housing and make sure the converter is deeper into the bell housing than the flex plate extends beyond the back of the block. When you are pushing the tranny to the back of the block, the bell housing should contact the block and the converter should have about 1/8" or so clearance to the flex plate. If the converter touches the flex plate before the bell housing touches the block, STOP. Re-seat the converter and try again.
As a lot of guys already said, put fluid in the converter before you install it.
and make a hell of a mess in the process... u can finish filling the trans once started, since theres fluid still in the bottom of the pan ( nothing said about dropping the pan) the fluid will be picked up by the pump. ull need to add about 3-4 once running... after the installation problem from 1st post, i still say take it a shop...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:17 PM
Ricky Rocket's Avatar
Drive it like a rental!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 165
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
torque converter installation

The general rule that I recommend is this: if you can fit your fingers between the torque converter and transmission pump, it is NOT installed all of the way. Wiggle, turn, and lightly push converter in some more until your fingers can't fit. This only works on bell housings that are open at the bottom. If it is a full bell housing, you need to measure from the bell into the torque converter and compare to service manual.

Rick
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque converter question(s) chrisflock Transmission - Rearend 3 11-10-2006 11:41 AM
Building a SBC to rev to 8k, and have power Andyrew Engine 52 04-17-2006 12:46 PM
Torque converter, diesel vs gas pjd Transmission - Rearend 4 09-10-2005 08:52 PM
Torque Converter Problem? 38project Transmission - Rearend 5 06-05-2005 02:21 AM
torque converter upgrade to avoid detonation? darom Engine 35 05-23-2005 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.