Installing Turbo 350 onto Chevy small block Help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 05:00 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Installing Turbo 350 onto Chevy small block Help

I have put the converter all of the way in. But once the tranny was bolted up the converted was still seated back away from the Flex plate. When I pull it to the Flex plate it no longer turns the drive shaft splines. What does this mean? Please help. thanks

[ May 07, 2003: Message edited by: ecarpener21 ]</p>

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 06:06 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Mopar tapered axle rear brake conversion
Last journal entry: What I'm doing now...
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4,267
Wiki Edits: 49

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post

Two questions.

How do you know it isn't turning the splines, and second how far away from the flex plate is the converter before you pull it forward?

Centerline
<a href="http://www.hotrodsandhemis.com" target="_blank">http://www.hotrodsandhemis.com</A>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 06:49 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I know it isn't turning the splines because I turn the flexplate and converter and hold the tail shaft and it does not turn. adn I guess It moves forward about a quarter inch. Thanks for replying
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 07:09 AM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,384
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post

1/4" is normal amount of play. Also, there is no connection between input splines and tail shaft until the engine is running and the tranny hydraulid pump is pressurizing the tranny control system. Your installation is fine. Worst thing that can happen is the torque converter is not seated in the front pump (sounds like the voice of experience doesn't it!). When this happens, you wipe out the pump as soon as you turn the engine over. You don't have that problem because you have that 1/4" play which tells you that the units are meshed properly.

[ May 07, 2003: Message edited by: willys36@aol.com ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 07:26 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-07-2003, 04:36 PM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I would be worried if you could turn the drive shaft by turning the convertor by hand.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-08-2003, 12:56 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Agua Dulce Calif.
Posts: 328
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face

I have a related question, I have never installed a auto tranny with the torque converter. I have read and herd about the two clicks as you rotated the converter on to the transmission after that I would guess is the time to slide the trans on to the engine with the alinement pins and secure the bolts of the transmission to the block. After that do you rotated the motor by the flexplate or damper pulley and start bolting up the torque converter bolts up?? Thanks my first have done a couple of stick shifts. Ed ke6bnl

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2003, 04:13 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I just bolted the torque converter.
But as you can read I am no tranny expert.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-12-2003, 05:11 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Thanks for your advice every thing works just fine. When I was putting in the fluid it started to pour onto the ground I think I should have run it a little before I put in all the fluid oh well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-13-2003, 10:17 PM
black66's Avatar
www.airriderz.com
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Coast
Age: 44
Posts: 452
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Yeah you always have to have the tranny running when you add fluid. The transmission pump needs to be running in order to circulate the fluid......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.