intake manifold help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2012, 09:14 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

intake manifold help

Can someone send me detailed instructions for putting an intake on my chevy 400 small block? Maybe your own opinion on products , torque pattern , how many pounds of torque, what kind of sealant, sealing the bolts etc ? I've never done it before and dont want to scew it up but i want to do it myself. Its the only way to learn. Its an Edelbrock Performer RPM . There was some cat on youtube doing it but he didnt look like he knew what he was doing. Makes two of us. Thanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2012, 02:48 AM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo:

Email Edelbrock tech. They will send you or email you install instructions.
Old 07-25-2012, 04:41 AM

The Edelbrock instructions are good, but there are a few other suggestions/reminders I have.

1 - Use the recommended Edelbrock gaskets (either their brand or Fel-Pro). The gaskets must be flexible enough to get a good seal, and some performance gaskets will not seal correctly.

2 - Don't use the end rubber pieces (if they are included); use a 1/4" high bead of oil resistant black RTV or equivalent instead. You may also put a very small amount of RTV around the water passage areas where the blue line of sealant is on the gasket.

3 - The inner bolt holes go into the lifter valley, so you need a small amount of sealant on the threads. You can very easily see which bolts when the manifold is off. If you don't seal them they will wick small amounts of oil up onto the manifold.