Hot Rod Forum banner

Interior Newbie...

999 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Haaseman27 
#1 ·
Hey all, I am new to the site but joined after reading some posts in the interior section. I am interested in learning a new trade and that being the upholstery trade. I am an ex body man so I have some experience with changing seat covers and such, but I really would like to learn much more advanced interior tricks, sewing, vinyl, leather and all sorts of tricks. I have a used sewing machine and bought some marine vinyl and would like to practice on that. I have a boat at home I am thinking about making new seat covers for and so on... Any tips? Tricks? Ideas on where to learn stitches and such? Total newbie here so any help would be great!! Thanks in advance. Colin.

#2 ·
The fastest and best way would be to work for an experienced upholsterer and learn all the tricks of the trade first-hand, but few tradesmen are willing to train their competition, so you have to go down a different path. I would begin with one of several books on the market. One I have here is Don Taylor's "Automotive Upholstery Handbook". It is available on Amazon.com for under $20 and starts out with the very basics and works gradually up to the more complicated stuff. Once you have the basic knowledge, it's practice, practice, practice and learn from your mistakes. My first couple of projects went straight to the landfill because I was too embarrassed to have anyone see them. Gradually, I got it figured out and made some money at it. One benefit you have today that wasn't around when I was starting out is the internet and forums like this where you can learn from others' mistakes instead of having to make them all yourself.

Ed

#3 · (Edited)