Jake's AOD :D - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2008, 10:05 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Jake's AOD :D

I recently did an AOD trans for my Dad's '66 Mustang.
It has worked pretty good overall. Lots of internal upgrades, Lentech VB with electric OD feature, diode sprag, wide band, A servo, etc.

However the 1-2 shift at WOT has been harder than I normally build into a trans because I didn't do the VB mods and I'm pretty new to the AOD.

I picked up the car today to bring it over to the shop to do some exhaust work and diagnose a 2nd gear takeoff issue with the trans (governor problem).

I saved myself the time of having to remove the driveshaft the normal way

Oops! new u-joints (albeit small ones) freshly balanced driveshaft, etc but a few WOT 1-2's did this one in.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-03-2008, 08:54 AM
Revolution Calling

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:

Quote:
I saved myself the time of having to remove the driveshaft the normal way
Whoa. I guess you did...

That U-joint just snapped clean off! Please tell us the brand/series of that u-joint. I do not want to lose a d-shaft again. I had a similar failure a few years back. I cringe every time I think about it.

You may consider some non-greasable joints for the next try. They aren't hollow.
Old 11-03-2008, 01:39 PM

Last photo:

The car will go back together with larger joints. There were two different size on the '66 Fords and this car had the little ones.

Ther joint was either a Spicer or Neapco, my local driveshaft shop uses both depending on availability,