Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
hotrodders.com: Project Journals: gypsypoet's Journal
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

View gypsypoet's profile Entries: 1
Views: 677
view from the beginning || now viewing most recent entries

10-06-2004 09:11 PM So it begins...
Alright, so I'm no mechanic.
In fact, any of those here that recognize me will do so by my first post, a thread about a 572 motor swap.
But, I am learning rapidly, thanks to a good friend (owns a 95' Talon that I towed from georgia for him ((buy american)) ) and to all the awesome people on this board!
So, with that still in the plans, but for me to get out of college
to do so, the stuff I can afford begins.

I figured I'd post complete "before" pictures.
The fist step here, (other than weeding out minor problems
and getting it to tip-top shape!) is aesthetics.

I'll be painting the truck in a couple of weeks, and in the mean time will be building a new cattle-catcher.
Some history will explain my entire motivation:
A good friend from my college here nick-named the truck
"The Beast", a name that has stuck forever, i like it.
Second, same friend and her partner in crime and I all started calling the cattle-guard on the front a ped-catcher. ped=pedestrian.
See, not to many cattle out here, but in the heart of Denver where i live there are lots of stupid pedestrians, so it became a ped-catcher.
Note: I have never and never plan to hit anyone, unintentionally or otherwise. Hopefully everyone can take a joke or two, since that is what I do.
Third, I am famous now for building a couch out of 3-inch steel I-beams. It wieghs roughly 300 lbs, uphoustery done courtesy of my girlfriend, and despite seculation is quite comfortable.
So my excess I-beam will find it's way into the ped-catcher if possible.

This is a 1990 V-10 Chevrolet Blazer. My pride and joy, I've done