Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
hotrodders.com: Project Journals: Dusty82's Journal
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

View Dusty82's profile Entries: 52
Views: 11246
view from the beginning || now viewing most recent entries

Pages (11): [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

02-16-2008 01:53 PM The Chevy Bench Seat - Part 52
The seat is done.

As this was my first automotive upholstery project, I really had no idea what all was entailed, or that it would take me as long as it did to complete. Part of that was the fact that I was also doing this as a school project, so most of it was done in class. Looking back on it, it wasn't really all that difficult a job to do. I know this was a simple project, and I have no delusions as to my skills, talent, or ability - I'm still a beginner, and I know that. I do know, however, that I can now move on to other, more complex projects, and have confidence that I can finish them. I also know where to find help if I should need it. Trust me, with a little patience and the right tools, you can do this.

The hardest part of doing this project was the sewing. I had done upholstery before, as I used to upholster dental chairs in a factory, but I had never run a sewing machine before. It's intimidating at first, but it can be mastered. The three most important things are practice, practice, and more practice. Learn how the machine works, how to thread it, how to wind and install the bobbins, and how to change the presser feet and needles. Then just get some scrap materials and sew. Learn to sew straight lines as well as curves. Draw lines on your material and learn how to follow them. While it's difficult at first to sew a straight line, I had more trouble with my corners. It's all about practice. You'll catch on, and you'll see it's actually pretty fun.