Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
hotrodders.com: Project Journals: Bluepen's Journal
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

View Bluepen's profile Entries: 11
Views: 4521
view from the beginning || now viewing most recent entries

Pages (3): [1] 2 3

05-25-2004 02:09 PM New rear rollpan installed
May 2004
I needed a new rear rollpan and nobody in the country makes one for my truck so I had to hand form it from 18 ga sheet metal. I made it with just hand tools since I don't have an E-wheel or anything else like that. I have never done anything like this before either but I guess it came out alright and screwed it in place after cutting the old one off. Well after doing allot of figuring and thinking about it I just went ahead and bought a wire welder. I had to install the new rear rollpan and a couple of other welding jobs and figured that after hauling it to a body shop and having it done for me and the other jobs it would cost me about the same so I just got one for myself. I took a couple of weeks to practice on some extra metal I had here in the shop. I haven't used a welder in about 20 some years and never a wire welder so I had to teach myself everything. No I'm not going to show a pic of the weld job(it works but it was flat out ugly). Got it it filled where I needed and just covered with some self ecth primer for now, gotta figure out which taillights I want to use now.

(click photo to enlarge)

(click photo to enlarge)

(click photo to enlarge)
  [Entry #11]

04-11-2004 04:59 PM Flamin' the cans
March 2004