Junk yard 454 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2013, 07:20 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Junk yard 454

Hello everyone I am looking to do a junk yard 454. I am thinking about pulling a four bolt main out of an old chevy truck and beefing it up for my next project which will be built around the motor. I am looking for something with a little more torque but still pulls pretty hard around the 4000-4500 mark. I am thinking in the end it should have a high rise intake with 2 double pumpers. My budget is probably around 4000. This will be my first engine build alone so please feel free to give any and all suggestions on cam, crank, rods, head, intake, ect. I am a beginner having never done a whole engine before so please tell me everything I should know. Oh and should I get a block with a 2 piece rear main seal or 1? Also if I am buying a block out of the junk pile or off craigslist what should I be looking for. I am thinking of boring it 30 or 60 over depending on the block. If I do this should I stroke it too? Any and all suggestions are awesome and thank you all for your time.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-29-2013, 07:32 PM

go price out some of the parts you think are cool,add a "G" note for machine work.stick with 1 carb if you are new to hot rodding.
I see a very nice 380 HP 454 in your budget
Old 07-29-2013, 07:48 PM

Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

Get one out of a motor home. They have a different cam and will give more torque that your're interested in. So I'm told.
Old 07-29-2013, 08:19 PM

Last photo: