Hot Rod Forum banner

Junkyard Motors..

8K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  68NovaSS 
#1 ·
First, i have searched the database here and have not found what i'm asking, so if i missed something, i apologize.

I'm looking for a 327 motor to put in a camaro, which i dont yet have.
my question is, when i go to a junkyard to find one, what do i need to look for, as far as knowing if the block is cracked or if it's rebuildable-acceptable, rebuildable-good, rebuidable-nightmare, mortgage scenario?

i'm new to this world, relatively. I've always had the interest, but i always had alot of hobbies. Now i'm getting into this one and it's exciting already! So please bear with my mundane questions at times.

Also, is there any way of getting an idea on what to pay for one of these motors?

I am going on the assumption that it's best to have the motor out of the car as i strip it down and rebuild, before bolting it in...
thx

#2 ·
My personal opinion is that you will not have much luck locating a 327 in a salvage yard, considering they have been out of production for almost 30 years. You will have better chances of locating one by either going to EBay, or swap meets. There is not much any one can tell you about what to look out for, unless you know the history of the engine, or the owner. I happen to know where two complete 327's are and I could see if the individual would be interested in selling one if you wish. Be aware though, they can bring a premium price.

Vince

#3 ·
Check with your local machinist's. They have the needed contact's and can often times guarantee you a rebuildable core. You also get to know the machinist. They can assist you in your goals. Be nice to him/her, set up a good repertoire. That's probably you safest bet. But it may come a price as well.

#6 · (Edited)