Keeping The Work Aligned? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2011, 01:18 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Keeping The Work Aligned?

It's not really been a problem to me until I get to corners and round areas. I've read in other places that a lot of people staple the work together in order to keep it aligned and to get an idea of how it will look. I also saw this on a Youtube video as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-05-2011, 08:30 AM

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:

As a novice, I used staples to hold almost everything together while sewing my sedan delivery interior. I figured if temporary pins were good enough for my grandma when she sewed up her own dresses, then temporary staples were just fine by me. Here's a shot showing the technique on a gentle curved section. For tight corners the staples need to be much closer together. But even then, great care must be taken so the material does not slip, move or get bunched up.

You'll need a very stout stapler, since you'll often be attaching multiple layers including sew foam. In some areas you'll be able to simply cut the end material off along with the staples once things are sewn up. But be aware that in many places you'll need to remove all those staples by hand. So it can be a time consuming PITA.