kenwood car stereo - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:09 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 68
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kenwood car stereo

does anyone happen to have a kenwood stereo in thier car? I just picked up a used one with no instructions and I am having a problem. I know I need a battery hot and a radio lead. That part is fine but the radio wont hold a memory. I have the red wire to the battery. The yellow to the radio fuse but there is also a blue/white that has a tag that reads P.CONT, what is that?
HELP PLEASE....I am tired of retuning every time I restart the car.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:21 PM
77z's Avatar
77z 77z is offline
Go big or go home
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ontario canada
Age: 41
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If i recall kenwood uses red for ignition yellow for constant and the blue white should be power ant



Regards Mike
__________________
77 Z28 496 9 inch
10.23 @ 129
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2005, 10:26 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
77z is right yellow is positive battery and that is why you dont keep memory.
red is ignition and turns the radio on. blue is power antenna or most of the time used for amplifier remote.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2005, 04:47 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Memory

Doc here,

"P Cont" is continuous power...or memory power...fuse it at 7 / 10 Th of an amp and hook it to main unswitched power.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2005, 11:00 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 68
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kenwood stereo

sorry it has taken so long to reply. I've been out of town. I tried your suggestions and still no memory. I was hoping there might be some certain sequence you have to follow to get the stations to hold memory or something I am doing wrong but. I think there is something wrong with the radio.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2005, 11:03 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 68
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kenwood stereo

I almost forgot...thanks for your replies
Charlie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:56 AM
77z's Avatar
77z 77z is offline
Go big or go home
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ontario canada
Age: 41
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Whats the model number there may be something different with it apposed to others and is it a in dash or pull out ? Just thinking that if its a pull out its possible the battery inside is gone


Regards Mike
__________________
77 Z28 496 9 inch
10.23 @ 129
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 09:37 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 68
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mike; the model number is KDC202MR. it is a in dash unit, not a pull-out. everything seems to work fine except the memory.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 12:39 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Medina, OH
Age: 68
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I now have memory!!! the problem was a bad lead. thanks to everyone for your help. this is one great bunch of guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what is the fastest (factory) car you have ever driven? badknuckles Hotrodders' Lounge 320 12-09-2011 02:32 AM
Song lyrics:Mike ness-I'm in love with my car DeathByGreaser Hotrodders' Lounge 5 09-29-2003 01:14 AM
How much Torque need to lift front end? unstable Engine 22 02-20-2003 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.